Vote in the 2024 Chortle Awards | Honour the year's best comedians

Vote in the 2024 Chortle Awards

Honour the year's best comedians

Voting is now open for this year's Chortle Awards, with Julia Masli and Ian Smith leading the nominations with three apiece.

Estonian clown Masli has been shortlisted for best show for her improvised agony-aunt session entitled ha ha ha ha ha ha ha and currently running at Soho Theatre in London. She also has a nominee for breakthrough act, and in the sketch, variety and improv category.

Smith is up for best show for his latest offering, Crushing; for best compere and for best podcast for Northern News, the show he co-hosts with Amy Gledhill, herself also in the running for breakthrough act.

Several other comedians are up for two awards: Sam Campbell as a breakthrough act and as a TV comic; Ahir Shah for best show and breakthrough act, Paddy Young for newcomer and the social media award  and Kiri Pritchard-McLean for compere and club comedian; and Christopher MacArthur-Boyd for best club act and best podcast for Liam Withnail & Christopher MacArthur-Boyd Enjoy An Album.

The shortlists were drawn up by a panel of comedy journalists and bookers, and the winners will be decided by a public vote at, which has just opened and will close on February 22.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in Central London on March 4.

Have your say using the form below.

Please note that you will need to be signed into a Google account to combat multiple voting

Published: 20 Feb 2024

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.