So You Think You're Funny? | All the winners and finalists

So You Think You're Funny?

All the winners and finalists

Since it began in 1988, So You Think You're Funny? has kick-started the careers of dozens of the country’s top comics including Dylan Moran, Peter Kay and Tommy Tiernan. espite going on to work with massive names such as Frasier’s Kelsey Grammer, Sketch Show star Lee Mack reckons the night he won the contest a decade ago was one of his most thrilling moments. ‘From the bottom of my heart, nothing has been as exciting as that moment when they said, “The winner is Lee Mack”. In terms of excitement, that was the pinnacle of my career.’

The competition was created by Karen Koren, founder of the Gilded Balloon Fringe venue in Edinburgh, who set up the competition simply to find fresh talent to feed the booming demand for stand-up. In the first year, the prize was £250 and the possibility of a TV commission. Indeed, the very first winner, Bruce Morton, landed a series on the Seven Deadly Sins.

Now sponsored by Foster’s, the competition is open to new acts, who have been performing for less than 18 months and who have yet to have been paid for a comedy gig.

Several heats are held around the country in late spring. Each night is not a direct competition, with judges instead selecting the best acts they have seen over the entire run to take part in one of seven heats at the Edinburgh Fringe.

Winners of each of these go forward to a final at the Gilded Balloon at the festival.

Previous winners and finalists

1988: Bruce Morton

1989: Phil Kay

1990: Trio Brothers (Rab Christie and Greg Herchill)

1991: Alan Francis

1992: Rhona Cameron

1993: Dylan Moran
Steve Furst (runner-up), Michael Smiley

1994: Martin Trenaman

1995: Lee Mack

1996: Tommy Tiernan
Valentine Flyguy, John Henderson, David Keay, Patrick McDonnell, Lucy Porter

1997: Peter Kay
Nick Doody, Paul Foot, Jonathan Gunning, Stephen Morrison, TJ Murphy, Rod Woodward

1998: Rob Rouse
Moz, Caroline Quinlan, Stuart Stanley, Dan Antoploski,Alex Zane, Reginald D Hunter, Nadine Lennard, Kevin Hill

1999: David O'Doherty
Josie Long, Juliet Cowan, Andy Zaltzman, Richard Morris

2000: Drew Rokos
included Des Clarke (runner-up), Mark Dolan, Mat and McKinnon, Francesca Martinez and Les Hommes Sans Noms

2001: Miles Jupp
Stefano Paolini (2nd), Alan Carr (joint 3rd), Michael Downey (joint 3rd), Seymour Mace, Hils Barker, Inder Manocha, John Bishop, and The Reverend Obadiah Steppenwolfe III

2002: Mathew Osborn
Mark Watson (2nd), Nina Conti (3rd), Michael Anderson, Andy Bone, Greg Davies, Rhod Gilbert, Rufus Hound, Greg McHugh.

2003: Tom Wrigglesworth
Andrew Lawrence (2nd), Stuart Hudson (3rd), Anna Crilly, Michael Fabbri, Anne Keirle, Matt Kirshen, Rodney Marques, Ed Petrie.

2004: Nick Sun
Russell Kane (2nd), Chris McCausland (3rd), Rob Collins,Jarleth Regan, Zoe Lyons, Susan Taylor, Rose Heiney, Lee Bannard

2005: Tom Allen
Sarah Millican (2nd), Joe Wilkinson (3rd), Charlie Baker, Kevin Bridges, Robert Broderick, Emma Fryer, Stuart Goldsmith, Josh Thomas.

2006: Wes Paker
Hannah Gadsby (2nd), Ginger & Black (3rd), Andrew Watts, Alan Bennett, Caroline Clifford, Raph Shirley, Holly Walsh, Marlon Davis

2007: Richard Sandling
Ben Davis (2nd), Joanne Lau (3rd), Toby Whithouse, Carl Hutchinson, Daniel Rigby, Gar Murran, Jack Whitehall, James Marsh

2008: Daniel Simonsen
Seann Walsh (2nd), Sara Pascoe, Ahir Shah, John Gavin, Josh Widdicombe, Gearoid Farrelly, Richard Perry, Daniel Sloss, Doc Brown

2009: Ivo Graham
Kevin Shevlin (2nd), Naz Osmanoglu (3rd), Richard Bowen,Winston Smith, Robin Bucklow, Mark Simmons, Jim Campbell, Kai Humphries

2010: James Kirk
Liam Williams (2nd), Rob Beckett (3rd), Alex Clissold-Jones, Romesh Ranganathan, Chris Turner, Matt Richardson, Laura Carr, Pete Dobbing

2011: Tommy Rowson
Finalists: Dayne Rathbone (second), Fern Brady (joint 3rd), Lucy Beaumont (joint 3rd), Andy Clark, Stuart Hossack, Nicola Mantalios-Lovett, Darren Connell, Alex Kealey

2012: Aisling Bea
Finalists: Jonny Pelham (second), Wayne Mazadza (joint 3rd), Murdon Haggs (joint 3rd), Amir Khoshsokhan, Conor Neville, Glenn Moore, Ingrid Dahle, Nick Dixon

2013: Edd Hedges and Demi Lardner (joint winners)
Finalists: Laura McLenaghan (runner-up), Nicky Wilkinson, Tom Taylor, Alasdair Beckett-King, Russ Peers, Jenny Collier, Andrew McBurney

2014: Aidan Strangeman
Finalists: Elliot Steel (runner-up), Joe Hart (3rd), Mark Daniels, Jim Smith, Benji Waterstones, Christopher MacArthur Boyd, Eshaan Akbar, Gary Meikle/p>

2015: Luca Cupani
Finalists: Yuriko Kotani (runner-up), Ed Day (3rd) Ben Pope, Yumna Mohamed, Neil O'Rourke, Matilda Wnek, Red Richardson, Stephen Lawson, AJ Roberts

Published: 29 Aug 2013

What do you think?

Today's shows


Monday August 21: Ian Smith, Flo and Joan, Rob Auton, Markus Birdman, Ali Brice, Erich McElroy, Carmen Lynch, Will Duggan, Ben Hart, Nazeem Hussain, David Huntsberger, Matt Hutson, MC Kiri Pritchard Mclean

PLEASANCE DOME, 6.40pm. Tickets.


student comedy

Monday August 21: Jordan Brookes, Glenn Moore, Sam Knights, MC Jarlath Regan. Laughing Horse @ City Cafe, 9.15pm. FREE!

Full fringe listing

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.