Voting opens for Scottish Comedy Awards | ... but only if you're in the business © BBC

Voting opens for Scottish Comedy Awards

... but only if you're in the business

Voting has opened for this year's Scottish Comedy Awards – but only for those who work in the industry.

The shortlists were announced last month with Frankie Boyle leading the field with three nods: for best TV or radio comedian and best writer, while his BBC Two programme New World Order is up for best TV show.

Comics shortlisted in two categories include Larry Dean, Fern Brady and mindreader Colin Cloud.

The lists are compiled by a panel of comics and promoters from suggestions put forward by those who work across the Scottish comedy industry.

Voting for the winners has opened today, with organiser Alan Anderson noting the irony of choosing St George's day. Click here to cast your vote.

But the poll is not open to fans, only to those who work in the industry, as performers, writers, producers, promoters, venue staff, or broadcast staff.

The awards. now in their fifth year, will be handed out in Edinburgh on July 31, the day before the Fringe begins.

Best headliner
Mark Nelson
Raymond Mearns
Scott Agnew
Susie McCabe

Best compere
Jay Lafferty
Joe Heenan
Liam Withnail
Ray Bradshaw

Best newcomer
Christopher KC
Chris Scort
Susan Riddle
Wil Nameeh

Best Improv / Variety / Sketch
Colin Cloud
Lewis McLeod
Spontaneous Players
The Dolls

Best Actor / Actress
Chris Forbes
Doon Mackichan
Elaine C Smith
Jack Docherty
Jim Smith

Best TV / Radio Comedian
Des Clarke
Fern Brady
Frankie Boyle
Iain Stirling
Larry Dean

Best Solo Festival / Tour Show
Colin Cloud - Dare
Fern Brady - Suffer, Fools!
Larry Dean - Fandan
Phil Nichol - Your Wrong
Ray Bradshaw - Deaf Comedy Fam

Best TV Show
Two Doors Down
Frankie Boyle's New World Order 
Mrs Brown's Boys
Scot Squad 

Best Radio Show
Absolutely Radio Show 
Breaking The News
Fags Mags and Bags
Fred At The Stand 
A Funny Kind Of..

Best Online Comedy
Ashley Storrie's Twitter / Facebook
Limmy's Twitter
News At Three
Sloss & Humphries Podcast
The Glasgow Trip

Best Writer
Armando Iannucci
Gregor Sharp & Simon Carlyle
Frankie Boyle
Stephen Dick

Best Event
Launch of Breakneck
Harker Family Front Room Comedy
SCOTY Final @ Rotunda

Best Comedy Club
Breakneck, Aberdeen
Gilded Balloon Rose St Theatre, Edinburgh
Monkey Barrel, Edinburgh
Rotunda, Glasgow
The Stand, Edinburgh
The Stand, Glasgow
YesBar, Glasgow

Best Comedy Night
Chunks, Glasgow
Crossmylaff, Glasgow
Drouthy Cobbler, Elgin
Enterteasement, Glasgow
Kilted Kangaroo, Stirling
Stand Out @ Strathaven Theatre
Viva La Shambles, Edinburgh

Published: 23 Apr 2018

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.