The BBC New Comedy Award  | Winners and finalists

The BBC New Comedy Award

Winners and finalists

Originally run from 1995 to 2006, the competition for acts who haven’t been on the circuit for more than three years was revived in 2011 for Radio 4 Extra, which broadcast the heats, and Radio 4, which broadcast the final live from the Edinburgh Fringe. In 2021 the competition returned to TV, with the heats streamed on iPlayer and the final given a late-night BBC One slot. The winners and finalists have been:



Winner: Julian Barratt
Finalists: Daniel Kitson, Silky, Lee Mack, Ambrose Martose, Viv Gee, Jeff Mirza


Winner: Marcus Brigstocke
Finalists: Jenny Ross, Chris Addison, Alan Doyle, Addy Van Der Borgh, Neil Bromley, Marian Kilpatrick, Bob May


Winner: Paul Foot
Finalists:   Bennett Arron, Justin Lee Collins, Craig Crookston, Neil Anthony, Gareth Hughes, Peter Kay, Deirdre O'Kane


Winner:   Dan Antopolski
Finalists:  Mary Bourke, Tony Coffey, Rhodri Crooks, Danny Oakes, Dan Tetsell, Helen Pilcher, Caroline Quinlan


Winner: Josie Long
Finalists:   David O'Doherty, Marc Small, Matthew Walters, Scott Pragnall, Colin Ward, Steve Harris


Winner:   Jason John Whitehead
Finalists: Anthony J  Brown, Angie McEvoy, Shappi Khorsandi, Paddy Bramwells, Billy Dufus, Alan Hulcoop, Des McLean


Winner:  Alan Carr
Finalists:  Markus BirdmanKeith Carter (as "Nige"), Jarred Christmas, Michael Downey, Des Clarke, Rob Deering, Russell Howard, Justin Moorhouse


Winner: Nina Conti
Finalists: Dylan, Bob Kobe, Paul Kerensa, Gary Delaney, Stefano Paolini, Ninia Benjamin, Karl Spain


Winner:  Rhod Gilbert
Finalists:  Michael Anderson, Greg Cook (runner-up), Steve Hall (runner-up), Ava Vidal, Lloydy The Illegal Street Trader


Winner: Andrew Lawrence
Finalists:   Liam Mullone, David Nicholls, Jarlath Regan, James Sherwood (runner-up), Danielle Ward (runner-up)


Winner: Tom Allen
Finalists: Edward Aczel (runner-up), James Branch, Aaron Counter, Sarah Millican (runner-up), Luke Roberts

No competition 2006 to 2010


Winner:  Angela Barnes
Finalists:  Pat Cahill, Tez Ilyas, Joe Lycett, Mark Restuccia, Chris Turner


Winner: Lucy Beaumont
Finalists: Pete Otway, Sunil Patel, Matt Rees, Tommy Rowson (runner-up), Matthew Winning


Winner: Steve Bugeja
Finalists: Ean Luckhurst, Jonny Pelham, Mark Silcox, Peter Brush and Rob Carter


Winner: Lost Voice Guy Lee Ridley
Finalists: Hari Sriskantha, Tom Ward, Tom Little, Brennan Reece, Amir Khoshsokhan


Winner: Yuriko Kotani
Finalists: Russ Peers, Athena Kugblenu, Michael Stranney, Ken Cheng, Andy Storey


Winner: Jethro Bradley
Finalists: Sindhu Vee, George Lewis, Lauren Pattison, Michael Odewale, Catherine Bohart.


Winner: Heidi Regan
Finalists:  Andy Field, Morgan Rees (replacing Yumna Mohamed who withdrew due to a family emergency), Jacob Hawley, Aaron Simmons, Sikisa (Bostwick- Barnes)


Winner: Stephen Buchanan
Finalists:  Helen Bauer, William Stone, Sarah Mann, Isa Bonachera and Mamoun Elagab


Winner: Janine Harouni
Finalists:  Donald Alexander, Hannah Platt, Josh Jones and Mo Omar.


No competition because of the Covid pandemic


Winner: Anna Thomas
Finalists:  Lily Phillips, Celya AB, Liam Farrelly, Molly McGuinness and William Thompson

Published: 8 Sep 2013

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.