Leicester Comedy Festival announces its 2021 award nominees | Winners announced next month

Leicester Comedy Festival announces its 2021 award nominees

Winners announced next month

The Leicester Comedy Festival has announced the shortlist for its annual awards.

This year’s event, and its sister UK Kids’ Comedy Festival, were of course held online, but hailed as a success after selling more than 20,000 tickets over the 19-day event.

Winners will be announced at an invitation-only online ceremony hosted by Zoe Lyons on Monday March 29.

Founding director Geoff Rowe said: The 2021 festivals were clearly very different to previous festivals given everything was online.  However, we still wanted to recognise the amazing contribution performers and others made to the events and we are still going ahead with our ceremony.’

The full list of nominees are:

Best Show       
Weirdos Comedy: Gary & The Crisp Factory
Tim Key: He Used Thought As A Wife (The Recital)
Esther Manito: #Notallmen
Stuart Laws: Single Father Of None
Fin Taylor: Irrelevant Material For A Post-Vaccine World

Best Festival Appearance
Ahir Shah
Louise Young
Joe Thomas
Jamie d’Souza

Best Podcast
Biggest Idiot
Pappy’s Flatshare Slamdown
The Dinner Party
Comedy Arcade
Jessica Fostekew: Hoovering

Best Kids' Show
Jonny Awsum: The Gag Slinging Guitar Hero
Paul Currie: Turbo Fool
Philip Simon: School’s Out Comedy Club
Jeddy Bear & Gary’s Picnic

Liberty Award                         
Jericho Comedy
The Joke Spot/Leicester City Libraries
Beyond A Joke series
No More Jockeys Live/TripleCeePee
Weirdos/Gary & The Crisp Factory

Best Promoter                                 
Just The Tonic
Tickled Pink
Leicester Cathedral

Tracey Miller Community Award   
A Place To Grow (Blaby District BIG Weekend)
Headway Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland
North West Leicestershire District Schools
Tiernan Douieb
Focus Charity

Contribution to LCF21
NextUp Comedy
Rob Gee
MerchAid/Cool As Leicester
DCMS/Arts Council England


Business of the year
Octopus Energy
Cool As Leicester
NextUp Comedy
The Rowleys Partnership

A lifetime contribution award will also be presented on the night.  Previous winners have included Barry Cryer, Ken Dodd, Victoria Wood and Johnny Vegas.

Published: 26 Feb 2021

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.