Who won at the Chortle Awards 2017 | All the results © Alan West

Who won at the Chortle Awards 2017

All the results

Romesh Ranganathan, Fleabag and I’m A Celebrity’s Joel Dommett were big winners at the Chortle awards tonight.

Ranganathan took the best tour award for Irrational, though he was pipped at the post for best TV comedian by Richard Ayoade, presenter of Channel 4’s Travel Man.

The BBC’s Fleabag was named best TV comedy, while Dave’s Taskmaster, featuring Greg Davies and Alex Horne, took home the TV entertainment prize.

In the TV actor category, where all nominees were women, Olivia Colman triumphed for her roles in Fleabag and Channel 4’s Flowers.

Bridget Christie won best live show for her stand-up performance Because You Demanded It, inspired by her anger at the Brexit vote.

Dommett won the breakthrough award, while other winners include Sara Pascoe, for her book Animal, Adam Buxton, for his podcast, and Elis James and John Robins for their Radio X show.

With the British Comedy Awards not currently running, the Chortle Awards - now in their 16th year – are the most prestigious accolades covering the full breadth of the comedy world.

Special awards went to Noel Faulkner, the owner of the Comedy Cafe in East London which has been forced to close its doors after 26 years because of eye-watering rent hikes; and Comedians’ Boxing, the huge community event in Blyth, Northumberland, organised by stand-up Kai Humphries and his brother Gav, which raised money for local cancer-stricken toddler Kian Musgrove.

Edinburgh Comedy Award winner Richard Gadd took the comedians’ comedian award, handed out by his peers.

Celebrities attending the event included Vic Reeves, The Jump’s Amy Willerton and Megan Mckenna from Towie and Ex On The Beach.

Winners were picked via an online poll of 6,000 comedy fans, after shortlists were drawn up by a panel of critics and independent comedy industry experts.

Chortle Awards

The full list of winners is:

Best newcomer

Tom Ward

Best compere

Justin Moorhouse

Breakthrough act

Joel Dommett

Club comedian

Carl Donnelly

Variety and character award

Lolly Adefope

Best show

Bridget Christie: Because You Demanded It

Best tour

Romesh Ranganathan: Irrational

Best TV comedy


Best TV comedy entertainment


Best TV actor

Olivia Colman

Best TV comedian

Richard Ayoade

Radio award

Elis James and John Robins

Book award

Animal by Sara Pascoe

Internet award

Adam Buxton podcast

Comedians’ comedian 

Richard Gadd

Offstage contribution

Noel Faulkner

Event Of The Year

Comedians’ Boxing

2017's venue and club winners are:


Best large club/venue: 99 Club Leicester Square
Best small club/venue: The Bill Murray
Best club night: 99 Club Ku Bar (new material night)


Best venue: Frog & Bucket, Manchester
Best club: XS Malarkey, Manchester


Best venue: The Glee, Cardiff
Best club: Buffalo Comedy Club, Cardiff


Best venue: Komedia Brighton
Best club: Bent Double, Brighton


Best venue: Birmingham Glee
Best club: No winner. Insufficient votes cast


Best venue: The Stand, Edinburgh
Best club: Red Raw, Edinburgh

Published: 20 Mar 2017

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.