2020 Scottish Comedy Award winners revealed | With Frankie Boyle scooping two © Two Rivers

2020 Scottish Comedy Award winners revealed

With Frankie Boyle scooping two

Frankie Boyle, Janey Godley, Still Game and Mark Nelson are among the winners in this year’s delayed Scottish Comedy Awards.

Boyle scooped two accolades for best TV comic and best TV show for his World Tour Of Scotland in the awards - which were originally due to be handed out in June.

But with the restrictions on live events, organiser Alan Anderson decided to reveal the results – culled from the opinions of those working in the Scottish comedy industry - today. 

Godley won the internet award for her comedy voiceovers, Nelson was named best headliner and Still Game event of the year for their farewell gigs in Glasgow.

Farmer and stand-up Jim Smith won the outstanding achievement award, decided by a panel of judges.

At Hogmanay, Smith became the first Scottish comedian to have his solo show filmed, produced and recorded by BBC Scotland and broadcast on primetime Scottish terrestrial TV before the midnight bells. 

The outstanding contribution award went to Chris Broomfield, also known as The Ram, who runs comedy at The State Bar win Glasgow.

In their citation, the panel said: ‘For over a decade, Chris Broomfield has stuffed his hand in his wallet and lovingly nurtured Glasgow’s oldest running comedy night, Comedy @ The State Bar. 

’It was there in that tiny basement where many of Glasgow’s new aspiring comics got their first gig at a weekend alongside pro comedians. Many of those pro comics having had their first gigs alongside Chris, they happily return to the State to perform in its intimate warm atmosphere.’

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Headliner: Mark Nelson
Nominees: Janey Godley, Larry Dean, Ray Bradshaw & Susie McCabe

Best Newcomer: Amelia Bayler
Nominees: Chris Weir, Connor Burns, Krystal Evans & Liam Farrelly

Best Compere: Rosco Mclelland
Nominees:Gus Lymburn, Jay Lafferty &Liam Withnail

Breakthrough Act: Paul McDaniel
Nominees: Liam Farrelly & Susan Riddle

Best Sketch / Variety Act: MC Hammersmith
Nominees: Colin Cloud, Spontaneous Players, Stu & Gary

Best Actor: David Tennant for Good Omens
Nominees: Jack Docherty for Scot Squad, Ncuti Gatwa for Sex Education; Susan Riddle for The State Of It

Best TV Comic:  Frankie Boyle
Nominees: Daniel Sloss, Iain Stirling, Janey Godley, Jim Smith & Larry Dean

Best Radio Comic: Ashley Storrie
Nominees: Des Clarke, Jim Smith & Lewis Macleod

Best Solo Tour / Festival Show: JoJo Sutherland: Riches To Rags
Nominees: Danny Bhoy: Age Of Fools: Fern Brady: Power And Chaos; Gary Meikle: Ibrow Guy; Janey Godley: Beyond The Fringe; Jim Smith: Back To The Teuchtar;  Larry Dean: Fandan, Liam Withnail: Homecoming; Men With Coconuts; Ray Bradshaw: Deafinately Baby; Stephen Buchanan: Baby Dove, Stuart McPherson: Mr November

Best TV Show: Frankie Boyle’s World Tour Of Scotland (BBC Scotland)
Nominees: Breaking The News; Still Game final episode;  The State Of It  Up for It (all BBC Scotland) 

Best Radio Show: Breaking The News (BBC Radio Scotland)
Nominees: Ashley Storrie (BBC Radio Scotland), Good The Bad The Unexpected (BBC Radio Scotland), Bowie At Breakfast  (Clyde FM)

Best Online Content: Janey Godley voiceovers
Nominees: Lewis Capaldi’s Twitter, Limmy’s Twitch, Mark Jennings Twitter, Stuart McPherson’s Election Leader Interviews : BBC Scotland

Best Comedy Writer: Neil Bratchpiece 
Nominees: Cat Hepburn, Neil Forsyth & Steven Dick

Best Comedy Event: Still Game: Final Farewell at the SSE Hydro
Nominees:Eddy Brimson for Naughty Boy; Gary Faulds at the SEC Glasgow; Gary Meikle at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, Richard Gadd for Baby Reindeer

Best Comedy Club: The Stand, Glasgow
Nominees: Gilded Basement Edinburgh; Glee Glasgow; Monkey Barrel Edinburgh; Rotunda Glasgow; Stand Edinburgh

Best Comedy Night: Crossmylaff, Glasgow
Nominees: Des McLean’s East Kilbride Sports Club; Enterteasement, Glasgow; Icebreaker,  Dundee; Monday Night Improv, Glasgow; Project X, Edinburgh

Outstanding Achievement (Panel Decision): Jim Smith

Outstanding Contribution (Panel Decision): Chris Broomfield aka The Ram

Published: 23 Sep 2020

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.