And the 2011 nominees are...

Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Award shortlist out

The nominees have been announced for this year’s Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards.

The nominations for best comedy show are:

And the Best Newcomer category attracted a record eight nominees:

  • Cariad Lloyd: Lady Cariad’s Characters
  • The Chris and Paul Show (Chris O’Neill and Paul Valenti)
  • Hannibal Buress - My Name is Hannibal: The Hannibal Montanabal Experience
  • Holly Walsh: The Hollycopter
  • Humphrey Ker is Dymock Watson: Nazi Smasher!
  • Josh Widdicombe: If This Show Saves One Life
  • Thom Tuck Goes Straight to DVD
  • Totally Tom

Both Ker and Tuck were formerly members of the Penny Dreadfuls sketch team.

The shortlists were revealed almost three hours later than the usual midday announcement, suggesting that the panel had difficulty in reaching a consensus.

Awards producer Nica Burns said: ‘This record-breaking year of 505 eligible shows demonstrates the incredible strength of the UK comedy scene, which is bursting with talent both familiar and new and continues to grow at an astonishing rate.

‘Not only that: in the run-up to this year’s Fringe, everyone was predicting that 2011 would be an exceptional year for newcomers – they were right. With 100 extra newcomer shows to consider, it came as no surprise that the panel was spoilt for choice. This inspired the longest debate in the history of the newcomer award, and a second vote. Result: an unprecedented shortlist of eight, all of whom the panel feels should be encouraged, as they clearly have a brilliant future in comedy.

‘We have a brilliant shortlist for best comedy show; a set of nominees to please differing funny bones - character, political and life-affirming comedy. And most of all, very, very funny. Comedy in the UK is in fantastic shape. This has been a great Edinburgh Festival for comedy.’

The winner of the main award receives £10,000 – the best newcomer and the panel prize receive £5,000 each. All will be announced on Saturday lunchtime.

The judging panel is chaired by Festival Republic's Tania Harrison and comprises Lindsay Hughes from Baby Cow, BBC radio producer Julia McKenzie, Daily Telegraph critic Mark Monahan, comedy development executive Simon Nicholls, Daily Mirror columnist Brian Reade, Time Out comedy editor Ben Williams and members of the public Steve Morton, Cara Sandys and Sarah Slack.

Published: 24 Aug 2011

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.