'Biggest award in comedy' announces its nominees | Shortlist for NextUp's 2m inflatable trophy

'Biggest award in comedy' announces its nominees

Shortlist for NextUp's 2m inflatable trophy

Twenty nominees have been announced for the biggest award in comedy.

NextUp awards a two-metre inflatable trophy to the Edinburgh Fringe show chosen to be the best by its audience and a panel of judges from the streaming service.

And last night it was announced that  Richard Herring’s Leicester Square Theatre podcast have agreed to put up £500 prize money for the winner.

The nominees are:

  • Chloe Petts: If you Can’t Say Anything Nice
  • Reuben Kaye: The ​Butch is Back
  • Anna Piper Scott: Such an Inspiration  
  • Paul Foot: Dissolve
  • Lorna Rose Treen: Skin Pigeon
  • Lindsey Santoro: Pink Tinge
  • Tom Lawrinson: Hubba Hubba
  • Daniel Foxx: Villain
  • Ikechukwu Ufomadu: Amusements
  • Louise Young: Feral
  • Krystal Evans: The Hottest Girl at Burn Camp
  • Sian Davies: This Charming Man
  • Louise Atkinson: Mates
  • Kieran Hodgson: Big In Scotland
  • Ian Smith: Crushing
  • Milo Edwards: Sentimental
  • Paul Sinha: Pauly Bengali
  • Larry Owens: Larry Owens Live
  • Gillian Cosgriff: Actually, Good
  • Bill O'Neill: The Amazing Banana Brothers

The news comes hours after the ISH Edinburgh Comedy Awards, set up when it looked as if the original Fringe accolades would not be going ahead, released their longlists containing more than 50 names.

NextUp’s Daniel Berg said: ‘Our members love discovering and highlighting live comedy, and when they speak - my God we listen. They’ve voted and helped shape this impressive list of nominees and soon, one of the acts will be the lucky recipient of one of the biggest and most physically burdensome awards on the planet.’

Herring added: ‘RHLSTP has managed to do the Edinburgh Fringe remotely this year, so we are delighted to offer a fraction of what our accommodation would have cost to help pay a fraction of the costs of one brilliant performer’s accommodation. That’ll teach the greedy landlords! Somehow.’

Last year the cumbersome award was won by Jordan Gray – and this year’s prize is 1cm bigger.

NextUp members can continue to vote for the nominees until August 24 at nextupcomedy.com/bigaward. The winner will be announced the following day.

NextUp are live-streaming more than 50 shows from the Fringe this month. Click here for more information.

Published: 14 Aug 2023

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.