Nasty Nigel to judge comics

TV boss heads Open Mic panel

'Nasty' Nigel Lythgoe - the TV boss whose unflinching opinions helped make Popstars such a hit - is to judge the Daily Telegraph Open Mic Awards.

The former LWT controller of entertainment has been named as one of the panellist at the final, which will be held at The Pleasance, Edinburgh, on August 21.

Mark Lamarr, Al Murray, and Daily Telegraph deputy editor Sarah Sands complete the line-up of judges.

The new comics trying to win their favour are Rohan Agalawatta, John Bishop, Jarred Christmas, Des Clarke, Richie Devlin, PJ Gallagher, Karl Minns, Patrick Monahan, Al Pitcher and Tom Price

The competition, backed by the Avalon agency, is open to anyone who had not been paid for a gig at the time of entry. Heats are held in student venues nationwide before the final at the Edinburgh fringe.

Entries are now open for next year's award, open to anyone over 16 who has not been paid for a comedy performance. Email for details.

Published: 19 Jul 2001

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.