Jon Stewart to receive the Mark Twain Prize | Top US accolade for former Daily Show host

Jon Stewart to receive the Mark Twain Prize

Top US accolade for former Daily Show host

Jon Stewart is to receive the 23rd annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

The former Daily Show host joked of the accolade: ‘I am truly honoured to receive this award. I have long admired and been influenced by the work of Mark Twain, or, as he was known by his given name, Samuel Leibowitz.’

The prestigious award is given out by the Kennedy Center in Washington in honour of the Tom Sawyer novelist, whose real name was actually Samuel Clemens. This year’s televised ceremony will take place there on April 24.

Centre president Deborah Rutter  said: ‘For more than two decades, Jon Stewart has brightened our lives and challenged our minds as he delivers current events and social satire with his trademark wit and wisdom.

‘For me, tuning into his television programs over the years has always been equal parts entertainment and truth.

‘In these often divisive and challenging times, someone like Jon, through his undaunted advocacy for first responders and veterans, also demonstrates that we all can make a difference in this world through humour, humanity, and patriotism. He is most deserving of this award and I certainly cannot wait to hear the concert hall full of laughter again on April 24.’

Because of the pandemic, Stewart, who now hosts a show on Apple TV+, is the first person to be receive the award since Dave Chappelle in 2019.

Other previous recipients of the Mark Twain award include Richard Pryor, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, Tina Fey and Eddie Murphy. Bill Cosby was given the award in 2009, but it was rescinded nine years later.

Published: 20 Jan 2022

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.