Simon Farnaby writes his first children's book | About a Dark Ages wizard in modern times

Simon Farnaby writes his first children's book

About a Dark Ages wizard in modern times

Simon Farnaby is writing his first children’s book, about a Dark Ages warlock who finds himself in the 21st Century.

The Ghosts and Detectorists star previously co-wrote the films  Mindhorn and Paddington 2, but The Wizard In My Sheis his first novel.

It’s about Merdyn The Wild and the ordinary girl, Rose, who agrees  to help him navigate the modern world if Merdyn gives her a spell to fix her broken family in return.

Publishers Hachette say the ‘hilariously silly and heartfelt adventure is perfect for fans of David Walliams and David Baddiel’.

The Wizard In My Shed will be published in October and can be ordered here.

Published: 5 Jun 2020

What do you think?

Today's comedy-on demand picks

AN ORAL HISTORY OF THE OFFICE:

Hosted by actor Brian Baumgartner, who played Kevin Malone in the US version of the Office, this new podcast gives a full account of the massive hit, starting with its origins when American producer Ben Silverman met Ricky Gervais at a Starbucks in Soho about adapting the popular workplace mockumentary.

The series will feature interviews with Steve Carell, John Krasinski, Rainn Wilson, Stephen Merchant, Angela Kinsey and Jenna Fischer.

Click for more suggestions
... including Hannah Gadsby giving an in-depth podcast interview and Tim Minchin taking part in a Matilda listening party.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.