First tour for BGT comedian Kojo Anim | 'My whole life has changed now'

First tour for BGT comedian Kojo Anim

'My whole life has changed now'

Britain’s Got Talent’s comic Kojo Anim has announced his debut UK tour.

The 39-year-old father of one was Simon Cowell’s golden buzzer act on this year’s series of the ITV talent show, winning a place in the final.

He said: ‘For me, Britain’s Got Talent wasn’t about winning £250,000, it was a chance to get in front of the judges, and to prove to myself that I can perform in front of anybody.

‘My goal was to make it to the final, and now here I am – announcing my first solo tour, something I’ve been working towards for 20 years.

‘Since my first audition when Simon pressed the golden buzzer, my whole life has changed and now I can’t wait to jump in a taxi to travel the country making people laugh.’

Born in Ghana, Anim grew up in Hackney, East London, where he’ll end the tour with a gig at the Hackney Empire.

He worked for BT in customer service before embarking on his comedy career, which has seen him work with Kevin Hart, Dave Chappelle and Chris Rock; on the  CBBC show The Mighty Truck Of Stuff; and hostedthe breakfast show on radio station Capital XTRA.

Kojo Anim Presents The Taxi Tour will take in 25 venues starting at Birmingham’s Alexandra Theatre on Thursday, February 6. Tickets go on sale at 10am on Friday.

 Here are the full dates:

Thursday February 6: Birmingham, Alexandra Theatre

Saturday February 8: Loughborough, Town Hall

Tuesday February 11: Dartford, Orchard Theatre

Friday February 14: Southend, Palace Theatre

Saturday February 15: Potters Bar, Wyllotts Theatre

Sunday February 16: Brighton, Theatre Royal

Tuesday February 18: Hayes, Beck Theatre

Thursday February 20: Salford, The Lowry

Saturday February 22: Chelmsford, Civic Theatre

Sunday February 23: Derby, Theatre

Tuesday February 25: Shrewsbury, Theatre Severn

Wednesday February 26:  Malvern, Forum Theatre

Thursday February 27: Llanelli, Y Ffyrnes

Friday February 28: Croydon, Ashcroft Playhouse

Sunday March 1: Basingstoke, The Haymarket

Tuesday March 3: Horsham, Capitol Theatre

Wednesday March 4: Bedford, Corn Exchange

Monday March 9: Stafford, Gatehouse

Tuesday March 10: Hull, City Hall

Wednesday March 11: New Brighton, Floral Hall

Thursday March 12: Leeds, City Varieties Music Hall

Saturday March 14: Yarm, Princess Alexandra Auditorium

Tuesday March 17: Swindon, Wyvern Theatre

Wednesday March 18: Bury St Edmunds, The Apex

Friday March 20: London, Hackney Empire

Published: 24 Jun 2019

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.