The Edinburgh Comedy Award nominees are... | 2013 shortlist revealed

The Edinburgh Comedy Award nominees are...

2013 shortlist revealed

The nominees for this year’s Edinburgh comedy awards have been announced.

Bridget Christie, Seann Walsh, Carl Donnelly, James Acaster, Max & Ivan, Mike Wozniak, and Nick Helm are all up for the top £10,000 prize.

It is the first time in 20 years that there have been seven names on the shortlist.

And Aisling Bea, John Kearns, Liam Williams, Matt Okine, Romesh Ranganathan are up for best newcomer.

Steve Coogan, who won the award in 1992 when it was known as the Perrier, will present the winner with their award at lunchtime on Saturday.

Judges will have seen 600 eligible shows over the course of the Fringe to determine the winners.

Nica Burns, producer of the awards said:  ‘After the longest best comedy show shortlist debate in the history of the swards, going to an unprecedented second vote, the list is, for the first time since Lee Evans won in 1993, seven strong.

‘In complete contrast to last year, 2013 will be remembered as the year of the stand-up with an exceptional laugh count. This year’s shows all combine great writing and outstanding performances with subject matter ranging from feminism, settling down, sky-writing, cats, love, life, lie-ins and the dangers of school reunions.’

‘The newcomers’ shortlist are the stars of tomorrow. A wonderful new generation of comedians who will make every corner of Britain laugh.’

Last year’s prize was won by Doctor Brown, in a shortlist dominated by unconventional acts, with Daniel Simonsen best newcomer.

The winner of best comedy takes home £10,000 with £5,000 each for the best newcomer and the Panel Prize winner, encapsulating the spirit of the Fringe.

This year’s judging panel is chaired by Tania Harrison, head of arts and comedy at Festival Republic and comprises:
Ben Boyer: Head of comedy development at Sky
Alice Jones: Deputy arts rditor Of The Independent
Claire Jones: BBC radio producer
Charlotte Lowey: Public competition winner
Dominic Maxwell: Comedy critic, The Times
Dale Platt: Public competition winner
Rachel Springett: Commissioning Editor, Channel 4
Ben Williams: Comedy editor, Time Out
Stuart Wilson: Public competition winner

Published: 21 Aug 2013

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.