Miranda leads Comedy Award nominations

Along with Friday Night Dinner

Miranda Hart and Friday Night Dinner lead the nominations for this year’s British Comedy Awards – with four apiece.

Both are up for best sitcom, alongside Peep Show and Twenty Twelve, while stars Miranda Hart and Tamsin Grieg are up for best comedy actress alongside Claire Skinner for Outrnumbered and Dawn French for her brief appearance in the second series of Psychoville.

Also doing well are Fresh Meat, Harry Hill and Twenty Twelve, all of which score three nominations.

Several comic and shows have two nominations, including Stewart Lee – up for best TV comic and best comedy entertainment show, alongside the more showbizzy nominees Harry Hill’s TV Burp, Alan Carr’s Chatty Man and An Idiot Abroad.

The winners will be announced at a two-hour ceremony hosted by Jonathan Ross on Friday night, and broadcast live on Channel 4. After-show party footage will air on E4.

The full list of nominees are:

Best New Comedy Programme
Fresh Meat
Friday Night Dinner
Twenty Twelve

Best Comedy Entertainment Programme
Alan Carr:Chatty Man
An Idiot Abroad
Harry Hill's TV Burp
Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle

Best Sketch Show
Come Fly With Me
Horrible Histories
The One Ronnie
This Is Jinsy

Best Comedy Panel Show
Celebrity Juice
Have I Got News For You
Shooting Stars
Would I Lie to You?

Best Sitcom
Friday Night Dinner
Peep Show
Twenty Twelve

Best Comedy Drama
Comic Strip Presents: The Hunt For Tony Blair
Fresh Meat

Best Comedy Entertainment Personality
Alan Carr
Charlie Brooker
Graham Norton
Harry Hill

Best TV Comedy Actor
Darren Boyd for Spy
Hugh Bonneville for Twenty Twelve
Hugh Dennis for Outnumbered
Jack Whitehall for Fresh Meat

Best TV Comedy Actress
Claire Skinner for Outnumbered
Dawn French for Psychoville
Miranda Hart for Miranda
Tamsin Greig for Friday Night Dinner

Best Comedy Breakthrough Artist
Dan Skinner (Angelos Epithemiou) for Shooting Stars
Greg Davies for Ask Rhod Gilbert
Micky Flanagan for Royal Variety Performance
Tom Rosenthal for Friday Night Dinner

Best Male Television Comic
Charlie Brooker
Harry Hill
Rob Brydon
Stewart Lee

Best Female Television Comic
Jo Brand
Miranda Hart
Sarah Millican
Victoria Wood

People’s Choice for the King or Queen of Comedy
David Mitchell
Graham Norton
Jack Whitehall
Jo Brand
Miranda Hart
Sarah Millican

Special Categories
To be announced on the night are the winners of
Outstanding Achievement
Lifetime Achievement
Writers Guild of Great Britain Award
Channel 4 Award for Special Contribution to Comedy

Published: 11 Dec 2011

Today's comedy-on demand picks


This is the show that celebrated the launch of Nick Helm's album in 2016, and has previously been unseen by anyone who was not in the O2 Forum Kentish Town that night.

With typical hyperbole, the show is described thusly: 'Under-rehearsed, under-prepared and under pressure, Nick and his band somehow managed to pull together the greatest show in the last 27 years of living memory. That show went down as a thing of legend, often spoken about by weary travellers around campfires, but thought to have been lost to the sands of time forever.'

Click for more suggestions

... including Al Murray headlining a Just For Tonic gig and the launch of Free Festival's virtual comedy programming.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.