Final countdown

Amstell to host student show

Simon Amstell is to host the final of the Chortle National Student Comedian Of The Year competition next month.

The Popworld presenter will compere the show on the Tattershall Castle, a floating venue on the Thames in the shadow of the London Eye, on Monday May 15.

Fighting it out for the coveted title – and a week at the Edinburgh Fringe – are the winners of six regional heats held last term, plus two ‘wildcard’ entries.

They are:

  • Chris Martin, from the University of Newcastle upon-tyne
  • Simon Bird, from Cambridge
  • Darren Richman, from Southampton
  • Dominic Elliott-Spencer from Derby
  • Paul Hayfield, from Birmingham
  • Andy Vaughan, from Strathclyde
  • Donnchadh O’Conaill, from Durham
  • Tony Richardson from Manchester

The show  will also feature a performance from the winner of the 2005 competition, Nathan Caton.

It starts at 8.30pm and tickets are priced £7 (£5 concs). To book, call 07932 658895.


Published: 24 Apr 2006

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.