The final countdown

Students prepare for contest finale

Chortle’s second Student Comic Of The Year will be crowned on Monday.

The nine finalists, chosen from six heats across Britain, are preparing for the big night at London’s Tattershall Castle, a floating venue opposite the London Eye.

All will be performing for an audience that includes judges from the Comedy Store, comedy agents Bound & Gagged, the Evening Standard, the Laughing Horse chain of venues and, of course, Chortle.

The winner will receive an invaluable leg-up on the comedy ladder, with a prize that includes a stand-up course with either Priceless Comedy in Manchester or the Amused Moose in London.

Last year’s winner, Lloyd Langford (pictured), is now a regular performer on the comedy circuit and will also be performing at the final.

This year's finalists are: Ian Hunter (London),  Tony Richardson (Manchester), Luke Catterson (Southampton), Paul Byrne (Essex), Symon Garner (Salford), Idil Sukan (Edinburgh), Ben Travis (Kent), Nathan Caton (Anglia), Kai Barron, (Devon)

The final, hosted by Mark Olver, starts at 8.30pm on Monday. Tickets priced £6 (£5 concessions) will be available on the door, or can be reserved on 07932 658895 

Published: 20 Apr 2005

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.