City Life Comedian Of The Year

All the winners

The North West's leading comedy competition was organised by Manchester's now-defunct weekly listings guide. Its winners were:

1990: Sister Mary Immaculate (Caroline Aherne)

1991: Dave Spikey

1992: Shared by Steve Vernon and Paul Glasswell

1993: Tony Mills (now Tony Burgess)

1994: Dave Rothnie

1995: Chris Addison

1996: Peter Kay

1997: Shared by Neil Anthony (now Neil Fitzmaurice) and Dom Carroll

1998: Steve Harris

1999: Jason Manford

2000: Justin Moorhouse

2001: John Bishop
Finalists: Des Sharples, Dominic Woodward, Electric Forecast, Nige, Ross Wagman ,Mike Wilkinson, Lee Grounds

2002: Phil Walker

2003: Seymour Mace

2004: John Warburton

2005: Andy Watson
Finalists: Danny Deegan, Dominic Woodward, Kerry Leigh, Paul Bethnay, Sam Avery, Steph Davies, Steve Shanyaski

2006: Vince Atta
Finalists: John Cooper, Lou Conran, Martin Tapley, Phil James, Ray Kane, Rodney Marques, Susan Hanks, The 1 Like Fish,

2007: Tim Craven
Finalists: Chris Brooker, Damion Larkin, Dan Bland, Ian Fox, Rob Riley, Ryan Gleeson, Tim Craven, Peter McCole

2008:  Eddie Hoo
Runner-up: Ben Davis
Finalists: Gareth Urwin, Joe Lycett, Mick McGrath, Mick Sergeant, Phil Buckley, Rachel Fairburn, Rod Shepherd

Published: 1 Jul 2013

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.