LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Paul McCaffrey

Paul McCaffrey

Finalist in the 2008 Laughing Horse new act competition

Paul McCaffrey Videos

Reviews

Paul McCaffrey: Name in Lights

Paul McCaffrey is a solid comedian who, like Ronseal, does exactly what he says on the tin - something that’s evidenced by the fact that he really does have his name in lights. The backdrop to his show is a retina-burning neon sign that cost him £500, but it’s well worth the price in subliminal advertising. After all, the audience are all staring at it for a full hour, so it’s unlikely we’ll ever forget his name. In fact, several days on it’s still there whenever we close our eyes.

Paul’s cheeky, self-deprecating humour is entirely at odds with the ego-boosting lights behind him. He explains that he bought them to send a message to an old teacher who, when Paul announced that he’d ‘have his name in lights’ one day, sneered ‘what, you?’

The rest of the show centres around the (many) times people have either doubted, underestimated or patronised him, though to be fair, he does seem to be a bit of an unlikely candidate for success. He looks like the love child of David Mitchell and a passing hobbit and cuts a fairly unprepossessing figure in his baggy grey jumper and jeans. In fact, you’d be forgiven for mistaking him for the taxi driver who brought the real comedian to the gig.

However, there’s no doubt that Paul really is the comedian in question. His jokes- largely about himself- rarely fail to hit the mark and his rapport with the audience is excellent. It’s no surprise when he reveals that he used to be a London pub landlord.

He’s warm, witty and inherently likeable, riffing on subjects as diverse as Coke Zero, visits to the gym and his failure to tan on holiday. It’s fairly standard anecdotal stuff, but it’s polished, warm and well rehearsed. The only real misstep is the song at the end, as Paul isn’t the best singer and his lyrics, though funny, aren’t really witty enough to overcome wriggles of awkwardness from the audience.

Will he ever have his name in lights without having to fork over a month’s rent for the privilege? That remains to be seen, but in the short term he’s a reliable comic who guarantees a fun hour in return for your cash… though be careful not to tilt your head, say ‘ahhh, bless you for trying’ or admit that you hadn’t expected much from him. He really doesn’t like that.

Tuesday 13th Aug, '13
Hilary Wardle

News

Comments

Older Comments

Paul McCaffrey Dates

Thu 24 Jul 2014

Fri 25 Jul 2014

Sat 26 Jul 2014

Wed 30 Jul 2014

Book Now

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Paul McCaffrey Dates …

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 8 Sep 2014

Fri 12 Sep 2014

Sat 13 Sep 2014

Fri 19 Sep 2014

Sat 20 Sep 2014

Sat 4 Oct 2014

Book Now

Fri 24 Oct 2014

Book Now

Sat 25 Oct 2014

Book Now

Fri 31 Oct 2014

Book Now

Sat 1 Nov 2014

Book Now

Fri 14 Nov 2014

Book Now

Sat 15 Nov 2014

Book Now

Fri 21 Nov 2014

Sat 22 Nov 2014

Wed 10 Dec 2014

Book Now

Thu 11 Dec 2014

Book Now

Thu 11 Dec 2014

Book Now

Fri 12 Dec 2014

Book Now

Fri 12 Dec 2014

Book Now

Sat 13 Dec 2014

Book Now

Thu 18 Dec 2014

Book Now

Thu 18 Dec 2014

Book Now

Fri 19 Dec 2014

Book Now

Fri 19 Dec 2014

Book Now

Sat 20 Dec 2014

Book Now

Wed 31 Dec 2014

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Paul McCaffrey's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Products