Rose Matafeo scoops NZ Comedy Award | ...with Paul Sinha named best visitor

Rose Matafeo scoops NZ Comedy Award

...with Paul Sinha named best visitor

Rose Matafeo and Paul Sinha have scooped New Zealand  Comedy Guild awards.

Matafeo, a Kiwi now based in London, won the Kevin Smith Memorial Cup for outstanding artist chievement.

It follows a whirlwind year in which she competed on  Taskmaster and landed both an HBO Max comedy special and BBC Three sitcom, Starstruck.

This is the second year running that Matafeo has scooped the award, previously won by the likes of Rhys Darby  and Flight Of The Conchords.

Meanwhile, Sinha was voted best international guest for his visit during the NZ International Comedy Festival.

Producer and director Paul Horan won the Executive Board Medal for his documentary series and book Funny As

NZ Today, hosted by Guy Williams, took the award for best performance on TV, and the mockumentary Wellington Paranormal won best comedy writing for film or TV.

 Nick Rado was named best male comedian and best MC, with Justine Smith best female comedian and Paul Douglas scooping  best gag and best show. 

Three breakthrough comedians were also highlighted: Ray O'Leary, Li'i Alaimoana, and Audrey Porne

The awards are chosen by members of the New Zealand comedy industry.

Published: 11 Dec 2019

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.