Edinburgh comedy awards announce West End showcases | ...but with few of this year's class

Edinburgh comedy awards announce West End showcases

...but with few of this year's class

The lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards have announce their annual West End showcases.

Three gigs in the Duchess Theatre on October 16, 23 and 30, will feature nominees from recent years. However most of this year’s shortlisted comedians are not taking part.

The first line-up comprises Ahir Shah and Sophie Willan from this year’s shortlist alongside last year’s nominees Al Porter and Nish Kumar. Iain Stirling comperes.

John Robins, who shared this year’s prize with Hannah Gadsby, headlines the following week’s show alongside best newcomer nominee Darren Harriot, 2015 newcomer contender Adam Hess and Pippa Evans, who was shortlisted for newcomer back in 2008. The MC is Danny McLoughlin.

The final bill comprises 2014 nominee Sara Pascoe, John Kearns (the only comedian to win both best newcomer amd the main prize), 2016 newcomer nominee Jayde Adams and 2015 newcomer nominee Larry Dean. The evening is compered by Kiri Pritchard-McLean, who writes but doesn’t perform with 2014 newcomer-nominated sketch troupe Gein’s Family Gift Shop.

Of this year’s best show nominees, Gadsby, Spencer Jones, Elf Lyons, Jordan Brookes Mat Ewins and Mae Martin will not be taking part in the London run. Australian Gadsby has announced her retirement from stand-up.

While Harriott is the only one of the eight newcomer nominees to be included. Lauren Pattison, Kwame Asante, Chris Washington, Ed Night, Lucy Pearman, Rob Kemp and winner Natalie Palamides will not be taking part.

Published: 26 Sep 2017

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.