Steve Bugeja crowned BBC champ | Radio 2 listeners make the choice

Steve Bugeja crowned BBC champ

Radio 2 listeners make the choice

Steve Bugeja has been crowned winner of this year’s BBC Radio New Comedy Award.

He took his title – and £1,000 cash prize – at the London Comedy Store, after winning a vote among Radio 2 listeners.

The show, hosted by Patrick Kielty, was broadcast live on the UK’s most popular radio station, with listeners given an hour to register their vote.

Manchester-based Steve, who said his highlight of the competition was meeting Kielty, said before the final: ‘I’m a bit of a loser really so I’m just going to do that onstage for seven minutes and hopefully it will be funny.

‘I always admired stand-up comedians growing up. I just love the idea that one person could entertain so many people at once. Then I had a go myself and I got hooked. The buzz of getting a laugh is incredible.’

Previous finalists have included Alan Carr, Peter Kay, Lee Mack, Julian Barratt, Russell Howard, and Rhod Gilbert.

And this year’s other finalists – chosen after a series of regional heats and two semi-finals – were Ean Luckhurst, Jonny Pelham, Mark Silcox, Peter Brush and Rob Carter. The heats were also broadcast on digital station Radio 4 Extra.

You can hear the final here... and here is footage from his heat:

Published: 10 Dec 2013

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.