And the 2010 nominees are...

All to play for in Chortle Awards

The nominees have been announced for this year’s Chortle Awards, with no one comedian leading the field.

Five acts have two nominations – the seemingly unstoppable Michael McIntyre, Dylan Moran, Shooting Stars regular Angelos Epithemiou, US stand-up Louis CK and acclaimed American double act the Pajama Men.

But no one has made more than two shortlists, demonstrating the breadth of top-quality comedy available across Britain in the past 12 months.

The Chortle awards, now in their ninth year, are the most credible awards in comedy, recognising year-round achievement on the UK’s vibrant comedy circuit.

Nominees, which are chosen by a panel of industry experts, range from established star names such as Russell Brand and Russell Howard to newcomers such as Ivo Graham and Naz Omanaglu.

In one change this year, there are separate awards for sketch and character comedy; and for musical and variety acts, where Tim Minchin, Frisky And Mannish, Hans Teeuwen and Wilson Dixon are vying for supremacy.

Only one woman has made the entire shortlist in her own right – Sarah Millican who is is up for best headliner; although Frisky and Mannish is a male-female double act.

Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow is up for the TV and radio awards, while its host is up for best tour; Moran for best tour and best DVD; Epithemiou is shortlisted in the breakthrough and sketch/character categories; Louis CK for best show and best DVD; and Pajama Men for best show and sketch/character act.

The winners – who will be announced at a ceremony in central London on Monday March 22 – will be decided by Chortle readers, except for a couple of special awards.

Click here to vote for your favourite acts
Click here to vote for the venue awards, sponsored by We Got Tickets

Chortle editor Steve Bennett said: ‘This hugely diverse list of nominations proves what a vibrantly varied comedy scene we have in Britain: that a crowd-pleasing observational comedian like Michael McIntyre can be listed alongside a disturbingly bleak artist like Kim Noble with a show about depression; or the brilliantly sprited cabaret of Frisky and Mannish can lie alongside the character of a downbeat roadside cafe owner like Angelos Epithimiou.’

The awards have been supported by independent video label PIAS, ticketing website WeGotTickets and PR company Impressive, who have all sponsored individual catgories.

Here is the full list of nominees

Best newcomer, sponsored by Impressive PR

Ivo Graham
Joe Lycett
Naz Osmanaglu
Gareth Richards

Breakthrough act, sponsored by [PIAS]

Kevin Bridges
Angelos Epithamou
Pete Johansson
Seann Walsh

Best headliner

Milton Jones
Andrew Lawrence
Sarah Millican
Phil Nichol

Best compere

Dan Atkinson
Jarred Christmas
Jason Cook
Stephen Grant

Sketch or character act

Angelos Epithemiou
Colin Hoult
Idiots Of Ants
Pajama Men

Music or variety act

Wilson Dixon
Frisky & Mannish
Tim Minchin
Hans Teeuwen

Best show

The Hotel
Kim Noble Will Die
Louis CK
Pajama Men: Last Stand To Reason
Tom Wrigglesworth’s Open Return Letter To Richard Branson

Best tour

Simon Amstell: Do Nothing
Russell Brand: Scandalous
Michael McIntyre
Dylan Moran: What It Is

TV and radio award (for a show with its roots in live comedy)

Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow
The News Quiz
Russell Howard’s Good News
Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle

Best DVD

Ed Byrne: Different Class
Rhod Gilbert’s Award-Winning Mince Pie
Louis CK: Chewed Up
Dylan Moran: What It Is

The independent panel who drew up the shortlist comprised: Chortle editor Steve Bennett, Chortle critics Julia Chamberlain and Corry Shaw, The Scotsman’s Kate Copstick, The Guardian’s Brian Logan, The Independent’s Julian Hall, The Sun’s Tommy Holgate, The London Evening Standard’s Bruce Dessau, Time Out comedy editor Tim Arthur and Sarah Farrell from Comedy Central.

Published: 15 Feb 2010

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.