The tension mounts...

Chortle awards announced tonight

The comedy industry is preparing to honour the best comedians around at the Chortle Live Comedy Awards tonight.

Hosted by Barry Cryer and Liquid News's Julia Morris, the evening will award coveted handed out in ten categories, from Best Newcomer to People's Choice.

Those in line for awards include Dara O'Briain, Jimmy Carr, Daniel Kitson, The Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III and Dave Gorman lead the field two nominations each.

Almost 800 people voted for their favourite comedians and clubs.

The winners will be posted online after the ceremony. The nominees are:


Best newcomer
Greg Davies
Rhod Gilbert
Matthew Osborne


Best compere
Chris Addison
Adam Hills
Dara O'Briain


Breakthrough act
Hal Cruttenden
Micky Flangagan
Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III


Best headliner
Jimmy Carr
Phil Nicol
Dara O'Briain


Best sketch/character act
Otis Lee Crenshaw
Garth Marenghi, for Netherhead 2002 tour
Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III


Best full-length solo show
Jimmy Carr: Bare-Faced Ambition
Dave Gorman's Better World
Daniel Kitson: Something


Published: 24 Feb 2003

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.