Alex Boardman

Alex Boardman

Oldham-born Alex Boardman got his break in comedy in 1997, when he made it to the finals of the Daily Telegraph Open Mic Awards.

Described as ‘epitomising the laddish, male perspective on the world’, he has supported Jenny Eclair, Craig Charles and Simon Day on tour and appeared in a couple of TV comedy showcases early in his career, including The Last Laugh for Granada, Mad For It for Paramount Comedy and Comedy Network for Five.

Read More

The best in the (North) West

Regional comedy awards handed out

Winners have been announced for the  second annual North West Comedy Awards, with Dan Nightingale scooping two of them.

He was named best act an best compere, while Liverpool’s Hot Water comedy club scooped three gongs.

The accolades were handed out at the Frog and Bucket comedy Club Manchester last night.

The venue organised the awards with agents A Rush Of Laughter – who collected a couple of the titles between them. Nominations and winners were voted for by the public 

The winners are 

Legend award: Agraman of The Buzz club

Best Act: Dan Nightingale  (pictured)

Nominees: Adam Rowe, Harriet Dyer, Simon Lomas


Best Compere: Dan Nightingale

Nominees:  Danny McLoughlin, Freddy Quinne, Paul Smith


Alternative Act: Harriet Dyer

Nominees:  Delightful Sausage, Keith Carter as Nige, Tom Binns as Ivan Brackenbury


Breakthrough Act: Hannah Platt

Nominees:  Chris Kehoe, David Bawden, Tony Wright


Best Comedy Club:  Hot Water Comedy Club

Nominees:  The Comedy Station, The Frog & Bucket, XS Malarkey


Best Small Comedy Club: Giggle Shack

Nominees:  Barking Tales, New Comedians @ The Comedy Store, Off The Rails Saddleworth


Best Promoter: A Rush Of Laughter

Nominees:  Colin Havey, Peter Vincent (Manfords Comedy Club), Rob Riley


Venue Of The Year: Hot Water Comedy Club

Nominees:  The Comedy Store, The Frog & Bucket, The Lowry


TV/Radio Act Of The Year: Tez Ilyas

Nominees:  Johnny Vegas, Kiri Pritchard-McLean, Phil Ellis

Best Tour/Solo Show: Gary Delaney - Gagsters Paradise

Nominees:  The Delightful Sausage - Ginsters Paradise, Harriet Dyer - The Dinosaur Show, Phil Ellis - Au Revoir


Best Podcast: Alex Boardman & Chris Kehoe - Mondeo Law

Nominees:  Dan Nightingale - Hack Radio, Eddie Hoo & Dave Longley - Arguing For The Sake Of Arguing, Harriet Dyer - Don’t Worry (Bi Polar) Happy


Social Media Award: Hot Water and its regular compere Paul Smith

Nominees:   Adam Staunton, Danny Sutcliffe, Sam Avery - Learner Parent


Best Open Mic: Beat The Frog

Nominees:  The Comedy Balloon, Gleeson’s Massive Gong, New Stuff At The Store

Read More

Published: 9 Jan 2020



Lee Martin
Contact by email
Red 16,
The Sharp Project
Thorp Road
M40 5BJ
Office: 0161 205 8739

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.