BBC launches its new comedy award for 2019 | Entries now open

BBC launches its new comedy award for 2019

Entries now open

The BBC has launched its annual hunt for new comedy talent.

Now rather clunkily retitled The Introducing Radio 4 Comedy Award 2019, the contest is open to any comic who has been performing less than five years, and comes with a £1,000 prize plus a springboard into the BBC.

Past winners and finalists have included Alan Carr, Sarah Millican, Peter Kay, Joe Lycett, Tez Ilyas, Lee Mack, and Rhod Gilbert.

Sioned Wiliam, commissioning editor for comedy on Radio 4 said: ‘Radio 4 continues to champion the best up-and-coming comedy talent, and I’m so excited to hear from new voices from all over Britain competing for this award. It’s great to bring the competition back for another year."

Last year’s winner, Stephen Buchanan, added:  ‘I used to dread competitions but the whole experience was honestly so much fun. 

'Winning the award has already presented me with so many amazing opportunities that I'll be forever grateful for. Without doubt, I'd urge anyone that does stand-up to enter."

This year’s prize also includes a 15-minute script commission from BBC Studios, while all finalists will be mentored by BBC producers.

Entrants need to submit a recording of them performing a five-minute comedy routine and complete the application form before midnight on Thursday May 9.

The best 50 entrants will be selected for regional heats, taking place throughout July in locations in London, Cardiff, Leicester and Manchester, and will be broadcast on BBC Radio 4 Extra.

The final will be hosted by Mark Watson during the Edinburgh Fringe, and will be broadcast live on Radio 4 on Thursday 15 August.

Published: 17 Apr 2019

What do you think?

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.