Meet Barry...

History of Melbourne's 'Perrier'

Unlike the Edinburgh Fringe, Melbourne is not driven by an awards frenzy.  While many see a Perrier as the very reason to go to Edinburgh, the Australian equivalent, The Barry, is seen more as simply welcome additional kudos.

Named since 2000, in honour of its first patron, Barry Humphries, this will be the eight year the award has been handed out to the most outstanding festival show.

It’s awarded on April 16, and past Barry Award winners are:

2004: Maria Bamford

2003: Mike Wilmot

2002: Ross Noble (pictured)

2001: Brian Munich & Friends With Ray Matsen & Jason Marion

2000: The Boosh

1999: Sue-Ann Post

1998: Miss Itchy

There is also a best newcomer award , a critics’ award, The Piece of Wood award fpr the  comics’  comics and a new The Golden Gibbo Award in memory of comic Lynda Gibson who died in 2004.


Published: 23 Mar 2005

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.