Order of the Empire

Hackney contest names its finalists

The finalists for the Hackney Empire New Act Of The Year have been announced.

The 12 acts will compete for the title at the newly-refurbished east London venue on February 28.

As usual, a number of cabaret acts take their place alongside more traditional stand-ups.

These include Peter Aterman, who performs as a spoof Vatican tour guide, the Rev Dick Tate, comedy juggler Pablo and impressionist Drew Cameron.

There's even a tribute to the music-hall sand dance act Wilson, Betty and Keppel called Vinell, Camel, Kiernan.

Completing the line-up are stand-ups Nelson David, Kerry Godliman, Jaik Campbell, Ava Vidal, James Goldsbury, Roisin Conaty and Del Strain.

Those who perform well in the final, to be hosted by Arthur Smith (pictured) will win a trip to perform at the Edinburgh Festival.

Previous winners have included Harry Hill, Ronnie Ancona and Ardal O'Hanlon.

Published: 4 Feb 2004

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.