Three of the best

Carr, Jones, Fielding scoop Time Out awards

Milton Jones, Jimmy Carr and Noel Fielding have all won Time Out Comedy Awards.

The trio picked up their awards from the London listings magazine at a ceremony in the capital, hosted by Jenny Eclair.

Awarding Jones the best comedy performance gong, Time Out's comedy editor Malcolm Hay said: "He twists both langauge and ideas with panache, and he can always come up with the goods.

"In recent months the inconceivable happened - he got even better."

Accepting the award, Jones said he didn't want to reel off a list of people to thank. "I might leave somebody out," he said. "I might also include someone in who didn't help at all."

Fielding picked up his award for outstanding comedy achievement.

Hay quoted some of the comments left on Chortle about the comic's unique brand of surreal humour, including the lines 'a wondrous sex pixie' and 'nonsense is its own omnipresent punchline.'

Carr was named as best stand-up, for being "a prolific writer of immaculately crafted gags" and his "cool style and dry delivery".

He said: "Thanks to everyone who helped me on the way - this really is a high point. I look forward to seeing you again on the way back down."

Previous winners of the Time Out award include Eddie Izzard, Harry Hill and Eclair herself.

Published: 11 Feb 2003

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.