And the nominees are...

Chortle shortlist announced

The acts shortlisted for the Chortle Live Comedy Awards have been announced.

Dara O'Briain, Jimmy Carr and The Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III lead the field two nominations each.

Almost 800 votes are currently being counted to decide the winners of the People's Choice, Comedians' Comedian and regional venue awards.

The winners, honoured for performances in the past year, will be announced at a ceremony in London on February 24, hosted by Barry Cryer


Best newcomer
Greg Davies
Rhod Gilbert
Matthew Osborne


Best compere
Chris Addison
Adam Hills
Dara O'Briain


Breakthrough act
Hal Cruttenden
Micky Flangagan
Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III


Best headliner
Jimmy Carr
Phil Nicol
Dara O'Briain


Best sketch/character act
Otis Lee Crenshaw
Garth Marenghi, for Netherhead 2002 tour
Rev Obadiah Steppenwolfe III


Best full-length solo show
Jimmy Carr: Bare-Faced Ambition
Dave Gorman's Better World
Daniel Kitson: Something


Published: 10 Feb 2003

Today's comedy-on demand picks


The comedian and rapper is putting his 2017 Edinburgh Fringe show out on YouTube for free.

In it, he likens the human lifespan to a banana, from green and full of potential to the black mush of decay; looking back at childhood crazes such as Pogs and considering his mental health today.

Click for more suggestions
... including a new podcast in which comedians describe their ideal music festival line-ip and two full improvised musicals from Showstopper!

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.