Daily Telegraph Open Mic award

Comedy awards

BBC New Comedy Award British Comedy Awards Chortle Awards City Life Comedian Of The Year Funny Women if.comedy/Perrier
Leicester Comedian Of The Year Open Mic Award So You Think You're Funny? Time Out

Daily Telegraph Open Mic award

The award that once billed itself as Britain's largest comedy hunt - attracting around 1,000 entrants a year - ran from 1994 to 2002, until sponsorship ran out.

Heats and semi-finals were held at the Comedy Network, a series of comedy clubs in universities across Britain, with the final held at the Edinburgh Festival each August.

The winner received £2,000 - a booking on the university circuit and appearances at the Montreal and Melbourne comedy festivals. It wass open to anyone over the age of 16 who has never been paid for a comedy performance.

Previous winners and finalists

1996: Frankie Boyle
Noel Fielding, Zeron Gibson, Kat Nilsson, Kim Binstead

1997: Paul Foot
Finalists: Simon Evans, Susan Murray, Michael Tombs

1998: Mark Haynes
Finalists: Geoff Whiting, Lee Canterbury, Dougie Dunlop, Hal Cruttenden, Stephen Grant

1999: Danny Bhoy
Karen Taylor, Lawry Lewin, Richard Morris, Billy Lewis, Johnny Candon, Belinda Merriman, Adrian Poynton, Lara Silverstone, Alex Zane

2000: Francesca Martinez
Finalists: Justin Moorhouse, Markus Birdman, Steve Day, Jimmy Carr, Mat & Mackinnon, Tom Nicholls, Karl Theobald, Jason John Whitehead, Andy Zaltzman

2001: Karl Minns
Rohan Agalawatta, John Bishop, Jarred Christmas, Des Clarke, Richie Devlin, PJ Gallagher, Patrick Monahan, Al Pitcher, Tom Price

2002: Mark Watson
Finalists: Hils Barker, James Bench-Capon, Gary Delaney, Steve Hall, Paul Kerensa, Ria Lina, Matthew Reed, Stan Stanley, Katie Walsh

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.