Jeremy Dyson

Jeremy Dyson

Date of birth: 14-06-1966
Jeremy Dyson is the non-performing member of The League Of Gentlemen, alongside Mark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith.

They net at Bretton Hall drama school in their late teens, and began performing a sketch show at London’s Cockpit Theatre in 1995, soon afterwards landing a residency at the Canal Café pub theatre, which compelled them to create new material at a fast pace.

In 1997 they won the Perrier, and their subsequent radio series On the Town with The League of Gentlemen, set in the fictional town of Spent, won a Sony Award.

In 1999 the League moved to television – and Royston Vasey – with subsequent series in 2000 (including a typically sinister Christnmas special) and 2002; plus a feature-length film, The League of Gentlemen's Apocalypse, in 2005.

On stage, they toured large regional theatres in 2000, had a six-week run at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in spring 2003, and toured a pantomime-themed show The League of Gentlemen Are Behind You in 2005.

Born in Leeds, Dyson went to Leeds Grammar School before studying philosophy at Leeds University and later an MA in screenwriting at the Northern School of Film and Television.

He has published a novel, What Happens Now, a collection of short stories, Never Trust A Rabbit, and several books about horror films.

Outside of the League Of Gentlemen he co-created the BBC Three series Funland, with Simon Ashdown.

Dyson also performs with the Leeds-based band Rudolf Rocker.

Read More

Precious things!

League Of Gentlemen released on vinyl for the first time

The original League Of Gentlemen radio and TV series are to be released on vinyl for the first time – and in a particularly classy package.

Special Stuff will comprise 12 heavyweight coloured LPs, packaged as four triple-gatefold sets featuring original artwork by Graham Humphreys, the illustrator known for classic horror film posters including The Evil Dead and the Nightmare on Elm Street series.

Created in conjunction with  Jeremy Dyson, Mark Gatiss, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith, the Demon Records release includes the original BBC radio series On The Town  and audio versions of every episode of the first three TV series, which aired in 1999, 2000 and 2002.

The team have also provided exclusive sleeve notes for the release.

Dyson said: ‘What is this bastard child you hold in your hand? This strange hybrid format, a vinyl LP of a television comedy series which is available on DVD and digital download. Why would you want to own such a thing, the sound without the pictures? What’s the matter with you?’

The 12-disc set will be released in November, priced £139.99, and is available to order here.

The package also includes an exclusive one-sided pressing of Creme Brulee’s Voodoo Lady, as well as a photo signed by the League  and four 12-inch square prints of the album covers.

News of the release coincides with the troupe heading back on the road on a comeback tour, inspired by the successful revival of the TV show for a three-part special last Christmas.

Read More

Published: 10 Aug 2018

League reunion

The League of Gentlemen are to be reunited for the…

We haven’t heard much from the League Of Gentlemen…

Making One laugh

BBC One has unveiled its autumn schedules, boasting…

League comeback

The League Of Gentlemen will reunite for a new show…

Skip to page



Claire Nightingale
Contact by email
22 Rathbone Street
Office: 020 7287 1112

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.