Upstart Crow

Upstart Crow

Show type: Theatre

Ben Elton brings his critically acclaimed and much adored BBC sitcom Upstart Crow to its natural home, the stage, with an all-new comic play set to delight London’s West End. Starring David Mitchell, once more donning the bald wig and bardish coddling pouch in his iconic characterisation of Will Shakespeare and Gemma Whelan as the sweet and fragrant Kate.

‘Tis 1605 and England’s greatest playwright is in trouble. Will Shakespeare has produced just two plays; Measure for Measure, which according to King James was incomprehensible bollingbrokes by any measure, and All’s Well That End’s Well which didn’t even end well.

Will desperately needs to maketh a brilliant new play to bolster his reputation and avoid being cast aside by King and country. But Will’s personal life is encountering more dramatic twists and turns than any theatrical story he can conjure. How the futtock can a Bard be expected to find a plot for a play whilst his daughters run amok and his house is used as refuge for any old waif and stray.

As time runs out, can Will hold on to his dream of being recognised now and for all time, as indisputably the greatest writer that ever lived, or will family woes thwart Will’s chances of producing his masterwork?

Upcoming Dates

Date: Mon 24 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 25 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 26 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 27 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 28 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 29 Feb 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 2 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 3 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 4 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 5 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 6 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 7 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 9 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 10 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 11 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 12 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 13 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 14 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 16 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 17 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 18 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 19 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 20 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 21 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 23 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 24 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 25 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 26 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 27 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 28 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 30 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 31 Mar 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 1 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 2 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 3 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 4 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 6 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 7 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 8 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 9 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 10 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 11 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 13 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 14 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 15 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 16 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 17 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 18 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Mon 20 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Tue 21 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Wed 22 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 14:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Thu 23 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Fri 24 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Date: Sat 25 Apr 2020
Venue: Gielgud Theatre
Price: £23 to £97.75
Show starts: 19:30 (Doors open approx 30 mins earlier)

Book now

Comments

Reviews

Upstart Crow in the West End

With the Only Fools musical and now Upstart Crow, are sitcoms slowly taking over London’s West End? But while Ben Elton’s Shakespearean comedy…
18/02/2020

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.