Doing something write

Lead Balloon, Rev and Peep Show up for script awards

Lead Balloon, Peep Show and Rev are all up for best TV comedy in the Writers’ Guild Of Great Britain’s annual awards.

Jack Dee writes Lead Balloon with Pete Sinclair; Peep Show is written by Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain and Simon Blackwell; and Rev by James Wood and Jonathan Harvey.

The radio category is being contested by Cabin Pressure, written by John Finnemore; Fags, Mags and Bags by Sanjeev Kohli and Donald McLeary and Sarah Millican’s Support Group, written by Millican herself. It is the third time in as many series that Cabin Pressure has been up for the award.

In the best screenplay category, Richard Ayoade has been nominated for Submarine and Joe Cornish (of Adam & Joe fame) for Attack the Block.

Fellow nominees are Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy’s 127 Hours, Peter Millan’s NEDS and Nick Whitfield’s Skeletons.

Meanwhile, Howard Read has been nominated for best children’s script for an episode of Little Howard’s Big Question entitled Why Do Things Have to Die? which he co-wrote with Chris Chantler. They are up against Rastamouse and Tracy Beaker Returns.

And the Eric & Ernie play about the early years of Morcambe and Wise, written by Peter Bowker, is up for Best Television Short-Form Drama alongside Exile and Sherlock.

The awards will be presented on November 16 at the Tabernacle in Notting Hill, West London.

Published: 16 Sep 2011

Live comedy picks

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.