Brits dominate Oz awards

Only two Barry nominees are Australian

British acts have dominated the Barry Award shortlist for the best show at the Melbourne comedy festival.

Only two of the seven nominated are from Australia.

Russell Howard, Daniel Kitson, We Are Klang and theatre duo Will Adamsdale and Chris Branch for their show The Receipt. Adamsdale won the Perrier at Edinburgh in 2004 for his one-man show Jackson's Way.

Irishman David O'Doherty completed the international nominees, while Fiona O'Loughlin and comedy actress Kate McLennan represented Australia.

The winner will be announced on Saturday night, alongside other awards such as a critics’ prize, best newcomer and the Plank Of Wood, which is passed from one comedian to another down the years based on their own tastes.

Published: 23 Apr 2007

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.