Have your say

Voting opens in Chortle awards

Voting has opened for the 2006 Chortle awards.

The annual ceremony, now in its fifth year, is the only event that honours round-the-year live comedy.

Some awards are decided by a panel of industry experts; others by comedy fans themselves.

Last year, Daniel Kitson was the biggest winner, scooping the People’s Choice award, being named best compere and winning the best show award for his Edinburgh hour. Andrew Maxwell was named the comics’ comic, with other winners including Will Smith, Rhod Gilbert and Mark Watson. Click here for all previous winners.

This year’s accolades will be handed out on March 20, at an event due to be hosted by Jimmy Carr, pictured.

Polls are open until January 23, so get voting. From the responses, three people will win a pair of tickets to the Central London event.

Thanks for your time

Who is your favourite circuit comedian?

What is your favourite live comedy venue?
(List as many or as few as you like)

Outstanding contribution to live comedy?

The following are just for fun – we'll publish the results in the run-up to the event:

Which defunct TV comedy do you most miss?

What is the funniest radio comedy of all time?

Which dead comic would you most like to have seen perform live?  

Who is the least funny comedian of all time?


Your name:   

Your email:  

Are you:  


The panel deciding other categories is: Chortle editor Steve Bennett, BBC radio producer Ed Morrish, Independent comedy critic Julian Hall, Evening Standard comedy critic Bruce Dessau, City Life comedy critic Marissa Burgess, David Trew of Jesters Comedy Club, Bristol, Hils Jago of Amused Moose comedy club, London, and live comedy producers Julia Chamberlain and Christian Knowles.

Published: 9 Jan 2006

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.