LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Susan Calman

Susan Calman

First coming to to attention as a finalist in the 2006 Funny Women awards, Susan Calman was nominated for best compere in the 2011 Chortle awards, and won the title the following year.

She is a regular on Radio 4's News Quiz.

Susan Calman Videos

Reviews

Susan Calman: Out Of My Head

Susan Calman: Out Of My Head

Susan Calman exudes a cheery joie de vivre, but behind it is a steely Glaswegian defiance. She’s going to have fun on her own terms, no matter what the world thinks.

If that means dressing up her cats, going to the supermarket in her PJs, or gyrating her pelvis as a way of saying ‘hello’, so be it. Her comedy is therefore both a celebration of quirky, individualism and a self-deprecatory mocking of what oddball behaviour that actually entails. The mix is hugely rewarding.

Something of an advance preview of her yet-to-be-announced next tour, this one-off Brighton Comedy Festival show features a wealth of eccentric stories from her fantasy world made real. When she says she lives her entire life as if it were an audition to be the Doctor Who, you not only believe her, but root for the producers to make that call.

Her last show, This Lady’s Not For Turning Either had a strong political payoff about marriage equality. She doesn’t wear such passion so prominently on her sleeve this time around, but her relationship forms a strong underpinning to several yarns, not least their honeymoon adventures on the Orient Express – which is not, it has to be said, Calman’s natural habitat.

She’s equally a fish out of water at a swanky spa, described in a routine that conjures up an hilariously slapstick image, although even in the most everyday of places, Calman doesn’t quite fit, thanks to her propensity to have daft ideas and run with them. One such notion provokes a uniquely peculiar piece of audience interaction, when she embarks on an ‘applause-off’, skilfully stoking the already silly atmosphere in the room.

Her unabashed openness in sharing the most embarrassing of her actions endears. A few times she mentions exchanges on Twitter, the perfect medium, alongside stand-up, for someone so keen to relate her every move.

The only thing missing from Out Of Her Mind is a finale to bring the show to a neat and climactic end; as it is, she seems to just stop when her time is up. But for an hour of funny anecdotes and feelgood carefree attitude, Calman delivers.

Saturday 12th Oct, '13
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Susan Calman Dates

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Susan Calman Dates …

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 25 Sep 2014

Book Now

Fri 26 Sep 2014

Sat 27 Sep 2014

Sun 28 Sep 2014

Mon 29 Sep 2014

Thu 2 Oct 2014

Fri 3 Oct 2014

Sat 4 Oct 2014

Sun 5 Oct 2014

Thu 9 Oct 2014

Fri 10 Oct 2014

Sat 11 Oct 2014

Sun 12 Oct 2014

Thu 16 Oct 2014

Fri 17 Oct 2014

Sat 18 Oct 2014

Sun 19 Oct 2014

Thu 23 Oct 2014

Fri 24 Oct 2014

Sat 25 Oct 2014

Sun 26 Oct 2014

Tue 4 Nov 2014

Thu 13 Nov 2014

Sun 16 Nov 2014

Fri 21 Nov 2014

Sat 22 Nov 2014

Sun 23 Nov 2014

Book Now

Thu 27 Nov 2014

Fri 28 Nov 2014

Book Now

Sun 30 Nov 2014

Thu 4 Dec 2014

Fri 5 Dec 2014

Sat 6 Dec 2014

Fri 12 Dec 2014

Sat 13 Dec 2014

Represented by

Richard Stone Partnership
2 Henrietta Street
London
WC2E 8PS
Office: 020 7497 0849
Fax: 020 7497 0869


ADVERTISEMENTS

Products