LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Simon Amstell

Simon Amstell

Date Of Birth: 29/11/1979

Simon Amstell Videos

Reviews

Simon Amstell at Latitude 2014

Simon Amstell at Latitude 2014

Everyone can learn a lesson from improv, Simon Amstell tells us in this early look at material set to form part of his next tour. The lesson is not, as you might think, ‘never go and see student improv’ but rather that we should follow the rules of the game: always say yes and never block an opportunity.

Amstell admits this is his main problem in life,not living in the moment. Which can be problematic for a comedian, since his anecdotes don’t necessarily have punchlines. Instead he makes his excuses and leaves the situation, reluctant to commit to the moment. Instead of a ribald story his audience can enjoy vicariously, it’s his reticence that’s the joke…

That’s not to the detriment of his set; as he says ‘funny comes truth’; and while this material is less self-lacerating than the most barbed of his earlier work, it is honestly confessional about his desire to be free of all the trappings of ego that hold him back from seizing the day. How he envies people with autism, he says, imagining them freed from the need to be polite and follow convention.

Of course freedom’s all well and good, but as a comedian you have at least one constraint: to be funny. In its current state, Amstell’s material hits about eight times out of ten, although some of the more challenging routines still struggle to square that circle, most notably his bleak analogy between eating meat and the concentration camps, which rather stuns the audience with its extreme imagery.

But the idea that a comic could ever be ego-free is laughable of course. He also needs to ‘be loved and thought of as special as fascinating’, not to mention adored by his audience, and that internal struggle – that every self-aware person can surely identify with on some level – is well-vocalised.

Pegged on to his main philosophy are routines about sex dungeons and the Queen (separately, I should add); and his ill-judged comment on Radio 1 on the day Nelson Mandela died. Everything his does or observed ins examined in forensic detail by this most navel-gazing of stand-ups. It remains as frank and fascinating as always.

Saturday 19th Jul, '14
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Simon Amstell Dates

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 11 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Simon Amstell Dates …

Sat 11 Oct 2014

Sun 12 Oct 2014

Book Now

Tue 14 Oct 2014

Book Now

Thu 16 Oct 2014

Fri 17 Oct 2014

Fri 17 Oct 2014

Book Now

Sat 18 Oct 2014

Fri 6 Feb 2015

Book Now

Sun 8 Feb 2015

Tue 10 Feb 2015

Wed 11 Feb 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Feb 2015

Book Now

Sun 15 Feb 2015

Book Now

Tue 17 Feb 2015

Book Now

Wed 18 Feb 2015

Book Now

Thu 19 Feb 2015

Fri 20 Feb 2015

Book Now

Sun 22 Feb 2015

Mon 23 Feb 2015

Book Now

Thu 26 Feb 2015

Book Now

Sun 1 Mar 2015

Tue 3 Mar 2015

Wed 4 Mar 2015

Book Now

Thu 5 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 6 Mar 2015

Book Now

Sat 7 Mar 2015

Sun 8 Mar 2015

Book Now

Wed 11 Mar 2015

Book Now

Thu 12 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Mar 2015

Sat 14 Mar 2015

Sun 15 Mar 2015

Book Now

Wed 18 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 20 Mar 2015

Book Now

Tue 24 Mar 2015

Book Now

Thu 26 Mar 2015

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Simon Amstell's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.