LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Patrick Monahan

Patrick Monahan

Contestant in ITV1's 2011 reality/talent series Show Me The Funny.

Official website

Patrick Monahan Videos

Reviews

Patrick Monahan: Cake Charmer

Patrick Monahan: Cake Charmer
© Steve Ullathorne
© Steve Ullathorne

Ever-ebullient Patrick Monahan is everyone’s best mate, hugging all in his audience as if they were long-lost relatives, and quickly filling the room with such warmth and energy that we forget there are about 40 of us in a comedy club that could hold six or seven times that number. The bloke he pulls on stage for some Iranian dancing (well, I think it was Iranian; and I think it was dancing) instantly gets into the spirit of things.

But once that subsides, it’s clear Monahan is doing the equivalent of a TV warm-up, but for a show that doesn’t actually exist. For Cake Charmer is based on such flimsy material that no amount of bonhomie can disguise.

The hour is based on audience banter, but it never spins out into memorably spontaneous moments, like his fellow North-Easterner, Ross Noble. Instead it’s the pedestrian gig-lubricant of a competent club compere, but without the solid sets in between.

Monahan cannot mention anything without conducting his own over-enthusiastic Gallop survey of the crowd. How many couples are in? Who likes baking? Who’s got a flat-screen TV? Who knows what a palette knife is? Who does crosswords? Who knows what YOLO means? What’s your favourite cake shop?

The title is not a clever allusion, it is an hour (well 75 minutes, once the Monahan Overrun is taken into consideration) largely about cakes. He shows us a book of cake recipes and is astounded it cost £9.99, then describes the process of baking one. What’s the first thing you should do? Anybody? Pre-heat the oven, that’s right!

Then he does a bit on the difference between men and women with regards to cakes: apparently women can leave them in the house and only have a thin slither when they want, whereas men guzzle the lot in one go. Is this really true? I’m not convinced... and more crucially, don’t really care. Maybe my ambivalence towards baked confectionaries doesn’t make me the ideal audience.

Monahan returns to a more successful set-piece for his finale, playing matchmaker between two singletons via the medium of the Gangham Style dance (even if that’s so 2012!). He would be Cilla, but he’s dangerously close to Paddy McGuinness.

He gushes such a stream of positive adjectives that he makes The Fast Show’s ‘Brilliant!’ character seem like Derek Nimmo, so criticising such an enthusiastic bundle of joy seems like drop-kicking a chihuahua, but really this material isn’t up to scratch. The posters proclaim him the star of ITV’s Splash!, but he could do with spending less time on reality TV shows and more time writing gags.

Monday 24th Feb, '14
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Patrick Monahan Dates

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

More Patrick Monahan Dates …

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 27 Aug 2014

Thu 28 Aug 2014

Fri 29 Aug 2014

Tue 2 Sep 2014

Thu 4 Sep 2014

Thu 4 Sep 2014

Thu 11 Sep 2014

Fri 12 Sep 2014

Fri 19 Sep 2014

Tue 23 Sep 2014

Thu 25 Sep 2014

Fri 3 Oct 2014

Sun 5 Oct 2014

Book Now

Sat 25 Oct 2014

Fri 31 Oct 2014

Sat 1 Nov 2014

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Patrick Monahan's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.