Mark Thomas releases script collection | Annotated transcripts of his last three shows

Mark Thomas releases script collection

Annotated transcripts of his last three shows

Liars QuartetMark Thomas is releasing the scripts from his last three acclaimed one-man stage show in a new book.

Amusingly titled The Liar’s Quarter, the paperback will also feature new commentary from the comedian about the stories.

They are Bravo Figaro! about his relationship with his opera-loving working-class father; Cuckooed, about his feelings of betrayal when learning that a fellow trade union activist had been a corporate spy; and The Red Shed, about his political awakenings during the miners’ strike.

September Publishing, which is releasing the book next month, said: ‘Mark’s blend of humour and anger is more relevant and essential than ever and The Liar’s Quartet brings his best scripts, as well as new political commentary, insight, humour and anecdote together into one volume. They are funny, provocative and moving – and essential reading for today’s tumultuous times.’

Thomas has won awards for his stage work including an acknowledgement of hi outstanding contribution to the  Edinburgh Fringe, and for his human rights work, including the Amnesty International Freedom of Expression Award.

The  Liar’s Quarter will be published on May 9, priced £9.99 in paperback. Click here to order from Foyles.  

Published: 21 Apr 2017

What do you think?

Live comedy picks

Now on NextUp Sponsored


Tom celebrates life for all its sexy little touches, spinning tales of unsung heroes including cheap kettles, friendly perverts and Tupperware. WATCH HERE


The 2017 Edinburgh Comedy Award nominee takes us on an absurd and twisting journey through his inner psyche. WATCH HERE

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.