LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Scott Gibson

Scott Gibson

Winner of the best newcomer award at the 2016 Edinburgh Fringe

Reviews

Scott Gibson: Life After Death at the Soho Theatre

Scott Gibson: Life After Death at the Soho Theatre

The Edinburgh Comedy Awards did their job this summer. By awarding the best newcomer gong to Scott Gibson, the panel gave a shot in the arm to a comic who’d previously gone largely undetected by the industry. But his victory would only seem to come out of nowhere if you hadn’t witnessed this assured storytelling show, now landing in Soho Theatre on the back of his Fringe success.

It helps, of course, that Gibson has quite the tale to tell. Feeling unwell after a stag do eight years ago, he tried to sleep off what turned out to be a brain haemorrhage. Eventually the full extent of his injury was diagnosed – by a fluke that shows how delicate the gossamer-thin divide between life and death can be – and his subsequent treatment has provided a goldmine of comedy fodder, though it’s quite the journey he needed to undertake to get it.

It’s one thing to have a story, quite another to tell it, but here Gibson shows the sort of mastery that has the audience rapt when needs be, and in rich laughter when the tension is released or the indignity exposed in skilful, self-deprecating description.

Initially, he doesn't seem that confident on stage, with the sort of airy preamble that, rather endearingly, suggests a man who isn’t fully at home with the idea a room full of people have come out to see him. He’ll soon get over that.

Act one concerns the stag weekend to Blackpool, nine years ago. Although featuring copious booze and a visit to the strip club, this isn’t the raucous laddish adventure you might expect. Instead it’s a vividly detailed description of the squalor of the cheap B&B the gang of twentysomethings stayed in, with an acknowledgement of the pack mentality of young men. It’s this section, probably more than the meat of the narrative, which marks Gibson as having the potential for enduring success, since it proves he can forge strong comedy without the high drama of his central story.

When we come to those matters medical, his storytelling skills flesh out the cast of supporting characters, from the brutally no-nonsense ambulance crew to the sinister-sounding operator of the MRI scanner. Gibson fits the stereotypical Glaswegian traits of being cheerfully direct – which means he’ll be batting off comparisons to Billy Connolly his whole career – but it also leads to an unsentimental appraisal of his experience, as he resigns himself to the physical humiliations and a lack of control over his own destiny, and indeed body, that the process requires.

Some of the medical sections might not be for the squeamish, but he doesn't dwell too much on the comfortable ins and outs of the operation. A smart raconteur knows what to leave out as well as what to emphasise – and Gibson is as natural a storyteller as you could hope to encounter. And you will encounter a lot more of him.

Thursday 22nd Dec, '16
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Scott Gibson Dates

Thu 30 Mar 2017

Book Now

Sat 1 Apr 2017

Sat 8 Apr 2017

Sat 8 Apr 2017

Book Now

Wed 19 Apr 2017

Thu 20 Apr 2017

Fri 21 Apr 2017

Sat 22 Apr 2017

Sun 23 Apr 2017

More Scott Gibson Dates …

Sun 23 Apr 2017

Thu 27 Apr 2017

Fri 28 Apr 2017

Sat 29 Apr 2017

Sat 29 Apr 2017

Sun 30 Apr 2017

Wed 3 May 2017

Sat 6 May 2017

Sun 7 May 2017

Sun 14 May 2017

Wed 17 May 2017

Fri 19 May 2017

Sat 20 May 2017

Sun 21 May 2017

Wed 2 Aug 2017

Book Now

Thu 3 Aug 2017

Book Now

Fri 4 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sat 5 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sun 6 Aug 2017

Book Now

Mon 7 Aug 2017

Book Now

Tue 8 Aug 2017

Book Now

Wed 9 Aug 2017

Book Now

Thu 10 Aug 2017

Book Now

Fri 11 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sat 12 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sun 13 Aug 2017

Book Now

Mon 14 Aug 2017

Book Now

Tue 15 Aug 2017

Book Now

Wed 16 Aug 2017

Book Now

Thu 17 Aug 2017

Book Now

Fri 18 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sat 19 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sun 20 Aug 2017

Book Now

Mon 21 Aug 2017

Book Now

Tue 22 Aug 2017

Book Now

Wed 23 Aug 2017

Book Now

Thu 24 Aug 2017

Book Now

Fri 25 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sat 26 Aug 2017

Book Now

Sun 27 Aug 2017

Book Now

Mon 28 Aug 2017

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Scott Gibson's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Products

Past Shows

AAA Stand-Up Late Scott Gibson: Life After Death Scott Gibson: Like Father Like Son

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.