LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Neil Hamburger

Neil Hamburger

Real name:Gregg Turkington

The alter-ego of Gregg Turkington, Neil Hamburger has performed around the world and has released eight CDs, beginning with America's Funnyman in 1996, and two DVDs.

He also toured extensively with Jack Black’s band Tenacious D on their Pick Of Destiny tour, including a gig at New York's Madison Square Garden, and appeared in their movie of the same name.

Reviews

Neil Hamburger: Discounted Entertainer

Neil Hamburger: Discounted Entertainer

Whhhhaaaat do you call a sack of human phlegm leaking putrid bile over an Edinburgh car park? Miiiiister Neil Hamburger!

It’s one-liners in that style – more often than not at the expense of Britney Spears, and usually a lot more offensive – that comprise the bulk of this returning American room-splitter’s material. Morally repugnant droppings from a diseased mind, they are always vile and frequently shockingly funny. There are, indeed, enough jokes about rape to merit their own section.

Some of these are new, some reprised from last year’s show. However, it’s not the jokes that people come for, filthy and of dubious quality that they are, but Hamburger’s masterful, unique delivery and compelling persona.

Gregg Turkington’s creation is a grubby little man who tries to conceal his rotting mass of self-loathing beneath a cheap tuxedo and a pathetically flimsy showbusiness sheen in a desperate plea for acceptance. But comedy only makes him hate himself more: he knows his jokes stink, he shakes his head sadly at the though of what’s coming up, while the latest horrible punchline might be followed by a remorseful ‘oh boy’.

He strains his voice to put misplaced razzmatazz on some of the feed lines, repeating key words with different stress. This reaches a brilliant climax with a gag that starts: ‘Why do gay men…’ which seems to get stuck in an infinite loop as he tries the line over, and over and over again, as if afraid of getting to the punchline. There’s nothing going on but a pathetic man saying just four words over and over again, but it is stupidly funny.

Slightly less successful is a long story about going to an Indian casino. Hamburger is a one-liner man, not an anecdotalist. He’s far too reprehensible to want to spend time with, even in a story.

Indeed some people might find him difficult to spend time with in a theatre (or atmosphere-free converted car park, as Assembly Three is) – although a drunken ability not to be able to comprehend what was going on was most likely responsible for today’s walk-outs. Even so, it prompted Hamburger to split bitter insults at them, hurling small change in their wake as derisory compensation.

For those who buy into the cult of Hamburger, though, the outburst is just another example of his appalling genius.

Monday 22nd Aug, '11
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Neil Hamburger Dates

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Neil Hamburger Dates …

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 25 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 26 Aug 2014

Wed 27 Aug 2014

Thu 28 Aug 2014

Fri 29 Aug 2014

Sat 30 Aug 2014

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Neil Hamburger's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Past Shows

Neil Hamburger: Discounted Entertainer Neil Hamburger Carlsberg Comedy Carnival 2009