The Moose has spoken...

Fringe award semi-finalists announced

The semi-finalists in the first £5,000 Amused Moose Laughter Awards at the Edinburgh Fringe have been announced.

An industry panel viewed almost 100 shows online before watching the best of them live at the festival. The shortlisted shows are:

Tony Law: Go Mr Tony Go!
Milo McCabe: Get Brown!
McNeil & Pamphilon: Which One Are You?
David Morgan: Triple Threat
Luke Wright's Cynical Ballads (pictured)
Paul McCaffrey: Saying Something Stupid
Beta Males: The Train Job
Jeff Leach: A Leach on Society
Jessica Fostekew: Luxury Tramp
DeAnne Smith: The Best DeAnne Smith DeAnne Smith Can Be

The awards, sponsored by DVD company 2entertain, were open to any comedian without a DVD contract; but entrants had to actively apply – unlike the Foster’s Comedy Award in which all eligible shows are seen by a judge or scout. There are 505 eligible for that award this year.

A semi-final will be held on Friday, when all the acts will perform an extract from their show. Finalists will be chosen by a mixture of audience and judging panel votes.

Published: 16 Aug 2011

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.