LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Tiff Stevenson

Tiff Stevenson

Contestant in ITV1's 2011 reality/talent series Show Me The Funny.

Tiff Stevenson Videos

Reviews

Tiff Stevenson: Optimist

Tiff Stevenson: Optimist

Tiff Stevenson, jokily dissatisfied with her initial entrance, aborts it in favour of a bigger one with more music and greater applause. As she momentarily retreats from the stage she chivvies us with the words: 'You know, like when you're at the darts.'

You'd be forgiven for thinking that this show was going to be full of pumped-up anecdotes about her exploits, as she's obviously a gal who likes a good time, or at least has done in the past. After all, within the first few minutes she lets slip she's popped two pregnancy tests and 'everyday' vodka into her basket on the same shopping trip before now, tells of Stevie Nicks' apparently preferred method of taking cocaine and confesses to being an irresponsible carer to her cat/ imaginary child.

But there are far more layers to Stevenson. A former optimist, Stevenson's 'horrible anus' of a year has questioned her previously hopeful disposition. After a foreign body appeared on her tongue her doctor diagnosed her as 'having a lump' that would need to be removed as well as pointing out that she was somewhat pessimistic in outlook.

But she hasn't always been that way and she begins to wonder what happened to that optimistic 14-year-old with a sense of social justice who went on Kilroy to defend free education.

As well as the worry of possibly losing nerve endings in her tongue, when talking is what she does for a living, the lump trauma also gave her first-hand experience of the NHS she feels is slowly being destroyed. This is truly where Stevenson the class warrior emerges. She's passionate about social injustice, taking away from the have nots by those that have too much. Even as a schoolgirl from the local comp she flicked off the public school boys' hats, already able to see the privilege some are awarded for no good reason.

Not that's she's always had such a positive outlook. Stevenson delves deep to tell of her OCD, nervous behavioural habits and a couple of suicide attempts. These confessions are frankly told, though it's hard to believe of the strong woman who stands before us. That said, it's often the same kind of sensitivity that manifests mental health conditions that results in heightened awareness of social injustice, recognising a need to protect the vulnerable.

But don't worry, she’s OK, reassuringly ending the show with a joyous denouement. A defiant yet heartfelt hour.

Saturday 16th Aug, '14
Marissa Burgess

News

Comments

Older Comments

Tiff Stevenson Dates

Sat 18 Apr 2015

Sat 25 Apr 2015

Sat 25 Apr 2015

Sat 30 May 2015

Thu 6 Aug 2015

Book Now

Fri 7 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sat 8 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sun 9 Aug 2015

Book Now

Mon 10 Aug 2015

Book Now
More Tiff Stevenson Dates …

Tue 11 Aug 2015

Book Now

Wed 12 Aug 2015

Book Now

Thu 13 Aug 2015

Book Now

Fri 14 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sat 15 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sun 16 Aug 2015

Book Now

Tue 18 Aug 2015

Book Now

Wed 19 Aug 2015

Book Now

Thu 20 Aug 2015

Book Now

Fri 21 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sat 22 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sun 23 Aug 2015

Book Now

Mon 24 Aug 2015

Book Now

Tue 25 Aug 2015

Book Now

Wed 26 Aug 2015

Book Now

Thu 27 Aug 2015

Book Now

Fri 28 Aug 2015

Book Now

Sat 29 Aug 2015

Book Now

Represented by

Lisa Thomas
Lisa Thomas Management
Unit 10,
7 Wenlock Road
London
N1 7SL
contact by email
Office: 0845 900 5511


ADVERTISEMENTS

Products

Past Shows

Talk Radio Old Rope In The Courtyard Lady & The Tramp
Old Rope In The Courtyard [2008] Girls With Guns
Tiffany Stevenson: Along Came A Spider Old Rope In The Balloon
Tiffany Stevenson: Dictators Tiffany Stevenson: Cavewoman Tiffany Stevenson: Uncomfortably Numb Tiff Stevenson: Optimist Tiff Stevenson: Mad Man Show Me The Funny Tour