LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Omid Djalili

Omid Djalili

Date Of Birth: 30/09/1965

Omid Djalili Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

A brilliantly barnstorming act, Djalili cheerfully subverts stereotypes in a dazzling, high-octane performance.

This Anglo-Iranian comic initially plays up to the image of the scary, manic, Westerner-hating Middle Easterner but with more phlegm - and more gags.

But then he'll flip things around, toying with audience expectations, parodying English middle classes as cleverly as the Middle Eastern stereotype. And there are plenty of self-referential asides about the easy laugh of a zany Middle Eastern accent to defuse any cynicism.

Sometimes the gags don't match this tremendous natural energy, but his knowing shtick of 'a laugh, a song, a fundamentalist diatribe against Western imperialism' is generally a triumph - and you get to see a fat man disco dance or belly dance, depending on his mood.

Date of review: Nov 2004

News

Comments

Omid Djalili Dates

Mon 15 Feb 2016

Sun 28 Feb 2016

Tue 1 Mar 2016

Wed 2 Mar 2016

Fri 4 Mar 2016

Sat 5 Mar 2016

Mon 7 Mar 2016

Tue 8 Mar 2016

Thu 10 Mar 2016

More Omid Djalili Dates …

Fri 11 Mar 2016

Sat 12 Mar 2016

Sun 13 Mar 2016

Mon 14 Mar 2016

Tue 15 Mar 2016

Sat 19 Mar 2016

Thu 24 Mar 2016

Fri 25 Mar 2016

Sat 26 Mar 2016

Wed 30 Mar 2016

Thu 31 Mar 2016

Fri 1 Apr 2016

Sat 2 Apr 2016

Tue 5 Apr 2016

Sat 9 Apr 2016

Tue 12 Apr 2016

Wed 13 Apr 2016

Thu 14 Apr 2016

Fri 15 Apr 2016

Sat 16 Apr 2016

Wed 20 Apr 2016

Thu 21 Apr 2016

Fri 22 Apr 2016

Thu 28 Apr 2016

Tue 3 May 2016

Fri 6 May 2016

Sat 7 May 2016

Tue 10 May 2016

Wed 11 May 2016

Fri 13 May 2016

Sat 14 May 2016

Represented by

Bound & Gagged Comedy
contact by email
Office: 020 8450 4100
Fax: 020 8450 8985


We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.