LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Lucy Porter

Lucy Porter

Lucy Porter Videos

Reviews

Lucy Porter: Consequences

Lucy Porter: Consequences

A lot of comedians find humour in the differences between generations, teasing the youth for their ignorance of cultural references before their time or the old for getting dull and decrepit – but few with the charm of Lucy Porter.

‘This is less a gig and more a drinks party,’ she says as she wheels out that talisman of suburban entertaining, the hostess trolley, and offers a choice of port or sherry to anyone who contributes to the show.

For she is now very much in this middle-class territory, with her home in Pinner, two children and loving husband, the actor Justin Edwards. It’s not the future life she expected when a music-obsessed, politically radical teenager.

After a magazine asked her to write a letter to that 16-year-old self, Porter decided to keep the correspondence going, with the younger version answering back, berating the 42-year-old her for being a square, losing sight of her social ideals and not marrying Morrissey. The letter’s full of tongue-in-cheek references to 2016 life, not filled with amazing comic insights, but classily presented with a knowing wink.

This set piece establishes the scene for some friendly chat, primarily with a young person in the audience, elected as a spokesman for his generation after passing a test to prove he empathises with the old, who, we learn, ‘love puns’. And Porter’s got a bunch of ‘em scattered throughout the hour.

Her main thrust is to examine shifting attitudes, both hers and society’s. She has no problems calling out a sexist Australian sheep shearer (don’t ask), but admits she struggles to get her head around trans rights – possibly a bold confession in these ultra-PC times. But she tries; she knows the world is generally changing for the better, however it might sometimes appear, and wants to be on board. Trust this ever-perky performer to take an optimistic view of life.

Driven by anecdotes – on everything from dressing as David Bowie to hating Queen –  the intelligence and grand ideas are concealed by her welcoming, chipper style that often feels like she’s just thinking out loud. It’s a thoroughly enjoyable experience, whatever your age.

Saturday 27th Aug, '16
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Lucy Porter Dates

Sat 1 Oct 2016

Thu 6 Oct 2016

Sun 9 Oct 2016

Mon 10 Oct 2016

Sun 16 Oct 2016

Wed 2 Nov 2016

Fri 4 Nov 2016

Mon 7 Nov 2016

Tue 8 Nov 2016

More Lucy Porter Dates …

Fri 18 Nov 2016

Fri 25 Nov 2016

Sat 26 Nov 2016

Thu 19 Jan 2017

Fri 27 Jan 2017

Sat 28 Jan 2017

Sun 5 Feb 2017

Thu 9 Feb 2017

Sat 11 Feb 2017

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Lucy Porter's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.