LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Lucy Porter

Lucy Porter

Lucy Porter Videos

Reviews

Lucy Porter: Fringe 2012

Lucy Porter: Fringe 2012

Lucy Porter begins by being slightly awkward and self-deprecatory – though everyone knows really she's witty, charming, amazing... I've fallen in love with her without really listening to what the show's about. It's no surprise the venue's packed with an adoring audience, and Porter charismatically owning the room with a mild lavender-scented breeze.

The year she's tackling friendship – supposedly. Friendship does feature in a couple of bits, including a twist-in-the-tale ending, but she's had a couple years off from the Fringe due to 'banging out children' and there’s no mistake this show is really about motherhood.

There's the usual smattering of witticisms, funny anecdotes, and even some jibes at fellow comedians (although in the most inoffensive form imaginable), but despite ticking all the boxes it doesn't add any new ones and it's material you could have guessed given five minutes and a napkin.

read more of this review …

Motherhood loneliness, mum puns, wedding jokes, an extended routine that takes us from getting impregnated through purchasing a pram, feeling sexy while pregnant and through to mother-baby activities. Argh! Even daytime television gets a mention, and everything wrapped up in cuddles and loveliness and joy.

It almost tips over the edge during an Argos joke, the new stand-in for airline food. She reads some 'funny' reviews from the Argos website which are fairly amusing, but this is the sort of material you can see verbatim in the back of half the pubs in London on open mic night. It's done much better here, but does it really need to be done at all?

It's a testament to Porter's jaw-dropping talent that she can make an hour of this material enjoyable, and she does. Anyone else and I'd be frothing at the mouth, but she wields an innate ability to suspend your cynicism. There's a repeated impression of a ghetto-like child that'd ordinarily be unforgivable, but reality is distorted until you start thinking even that is funny in its own right.

This is Lucy Porter at her most mediocre; fans will love it and no doubt some newcomers will come away converts, but this is more going through the motions than a triumphant comeback.

Monday 13th Aug, '12
Alex Mason

News

Comments

Older Comments

Lucy Porter Dates

Tue 29 Apr 2014

Fri 9 May 2014

Book Now

Sat 10 May 2014

Book Now

Wed 14 May 2014

Mon 2 Jun 2014

Sun 15 Jun 2014

Thu 3 Jul 2014

Mon 7 Jul 2014

Fri 18 Jul 2014

More Lucy Porter Dates …

Sun 20 Jul 2014

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Lucy Porter's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.