LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Jonny And The Baptists

Jonny And The Baptists

Real name:Jonny Donahoe and Paddy Gerver

Jonny And The Baptists Videos

Reviews

Jonny and the Baptists: Bigger Than Judas

There are fewer Baptists than there used to be. In the 12 months since the last Fringe, Jonny Donahoe’s band have lost their fiddle player, Amy Butterworth, who gave them such a distinctive sound.

Now down to just a guitarist Paddy Gervers and frontman Donohoe, the simpler set-up means their gig is less like a ceilidh and there’s more emphasis on the lyrics, which is perhaps no bad thing for the messages they want to get out. For now they’ve started appearing on The Now Show, they’re getting a bit more political in their outlook.

There are upbeat songs about UKIP, rejoicing at Margaret Thatcher’s funeral  and that most pressing of social issues: soup. They are not overly-strident – the fit with the Radio 4 topical slot is a good one – but smuggle in their liberal-left agenda behind jaunty, catchy melodies and Donahoe’s effusive middle-class enthusiasm.

The funniest track of the lot blends the big ideas with the reality of British politeness, mumbling under our breath about the great moral outrages, but only genuinely being stirred into action by the trivial.

According to the pair, one composition calling for an end to the discrimination that prevents gay men from giving blood – a protest song in the finest tradition – was banned by the BBC ‘because it promotes homosexuality’. Vladimir Putin would be proud.

This is one of a few repeats from last year’s show. The Edinburgh Fringe has to be the place to reiterate their plea to vote ‘no’ to devolutio, via the medium of the plaintive ballad Scotland Don’t Leave Me, while there’s also another outing for the toe-tapper Not A Pub, lamenting the rise of the gastro- prefixed drinking houses. But in music you have to give ’em the hits...

With more energy than might be expected so late in the Fringe, Bigger Than Judas is another relentlessly fun offering by the talented two-piece. Yet it also feels that their best work is ahead of them, as they increasingly find that they have something to say.

Monday 26th Aug, '13
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Jonny And The Baptists Dates

Wed 30 Jul 2014

Book Now

Thu 31 Jul 2014

Book Now

Fri 1 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 2 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 3 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 4 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 5 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 6 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 7 Aug 2014

Book Now
More Jonny And The Baptists Dates …

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 8 Aug 2014

Sat 9 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 10 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 12 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 13 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 14 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 15 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 16 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 17 Aug 2014

Book Now

Mon 18 Aug 2014

Book Now

Tue 19 Aug 2014

Book Now

Wed 20 Aug 2014

Book Now

Thu 21 Aug 2014

Book Now

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 24 Aug 2014

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Jonny And The Baptists's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Products