LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Isy Suttie

Isy Suttie

Isy Suttie Videos

Reviews

Isy Suttie: Pearl and Dave

Isy Suttie: Pearl and Dave

Pearl and Dave is Isy Suttie doing what she does best: A cosy, tender, romantic story, illustrated with poignantly sweet songs.

Poignantly sweet doesn’t equal laugh-out-loud funny, of course, and the chuckles here are thin on the ground. But you will leave with a snug feeling in your soul, and the grumbled self-motivation ‘C’mon, Dave’ lodged in your vocabulary to call upon whenever you need to give yourself a boost.

The Dave in question is a quiet, modest accountant who lives with his mum in Suttie’s home town of Matlock, Derbyshire. He’s not good with women but still holds a candle for the well-spoken Pearl, who he met at the Skegness Butlins, years ago.

Suttie picks up the story when he finds her on Facebook and tries to revive this romantic interlude over a series of remarkably chaste messages and Skype conversations. Their interaction is initially based on the lies and exaggerations of many a date, before they relax into their real personalities.

The Peep Show actress is most often compared to Victoria Wood – female, Northern(ish), musician, domestic outlook – but here she’s striving for Daniel Kitson territory, of a gentle, sensitive, ambiguous story told with heart. She falls short of that – who wouldn’t? – but the yarn still boasts plenty of surprisingly moving moments.

She’s a strong actor, and her singing voice is a treasure, ranging from gruff Dave to cut-glass Pearl. But despite this, and the fact the characters are well-drawn, this still remains firmly a story; you’re interested in seeing how it turns out – which is perhaps not as you expect – but not completely drawn into their parochial world. Somehow there’s just a slight shortfall in the credibility, even though these are firmly grounded characters.

Yet there are some lovely comedic flourishes – the sad letter from a celestial star named in a loved one’s honour; or the sound advice on how you should deploy Tom Waits’s music, all of which add to this rich, rewarding show.

Monday 29th Aug, '11
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Isy Suttie Dates

Mon 15 Aug 2016

Tue 16 Aug 2016

Wed 17 Aug 2016

Thu 18 Aug 2016

Fri 19 Aug 2016

Sat 20 Aug 2016

Mon 22 Aug 2016

Tue 23 Aug 2016

Wed 24 Aug 2016

More Isy Suttie Dates …

Thu 25 Aug 2016

Fri 26 Aug 2016

Sat 27 Aug 2016

Thu 8 Sep 2016

Fri 16 Sep 2016

Sun 18 Sep 2016

Mon 19 Sep 2016

Fri 23 Sep 2016

Thu 29 Sep 2016

Fri 30 Sep 2016

Sat 1 Oct 2016

Represented by

United Agents
12-26 Lexington Street
London
W1F 0LE
contact by email
Office: 020 3214 0800


ADVERTISEMENTS

Products

Isy Suttie: The Actual One

How I tried, and failed, to remain twenty-something for ever

Alternative Comedy Experience Series 2

Alternative Comedy Experience

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.