Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search


Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos


Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002



Gary Delaney Dates

Wed 26 Oct 2016

Thu 27 Oct 2016

Thu 27 Oct 2016

Wed 2 Nov 2016

Fri 4 Nov 2016

Sat 5 Nov 2016

Thu 10 Nov 2016

Fri 11 Nov 2016

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Sat 12 Nov 2016

Sun 13 Nov 2016

Tue 15 Nov 2016

Sat 19 Nov 2016

Thu 8 Dec 2016

Fri 16 Dec 2016

Sat 17 Dec 2016

Sat 17 Dec 2016

Thu 12 Jan 2017

Sun 15 Jan 2017

Sat 11 Feb 2017

Fri 24 Feb 2017

Fri 17 Mar 2017

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.