LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002

News

Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Sat 13 Feb 2016

Thu 18 Feb 2016

Book Now

Fri 19 Feb 2016

Book Now

Sat 20 Feb 2016

Book Now

Sat 27 Feb 2016

Tue 8 Mar 2016

Book Now

Thu 10 Mar 2016

Book Now

Fri 11 Mar 2016

Sat 12 Mar 2016

Book Now
More Gary Delaney Dates …

Fri 18 Mar 2016

Thu 24 Mar 2016

Book Now

Tue 12 Apr 2016

Wed 13 Apr 2016

Thu 14 Apr 2016

Fri 15 Apr 2016

Wed 20 Apr 2016

Thu 21 Apr 2016

Fri 22 Apr 2016

Book Now

Tue 26 Apr 2016

Book Now

Wed 27 Apr 2016

Book Now

Thu 28 Apr 2016

Book Now

Fri 29 Apr 2016

Book Now

Sat 30 Apr 2016

Book Now

Thu 5 May 2016

Thu 5 May 2016

Book Now

Fri 6 May 2016

Book Now

Sat 7 May 2016

Book Now

Sun 8 May 2016

Book Now

Tue 10 May 2016

Book Now

Wed 11 May 2016

Book Now

Thu 12 May 2016

Book Now

Fri 13 May 2016

Book Now

Sat 14 May 2016

Book Now

Sun 15 May 2016

Book Now

Wed 18 May 2016

Book Now

Thu 19 May 2016

Book Now

Tue 24 May 2016

Book Now

Thu 26 May 2016

Book Now

Fri 27 May 2016

Book Now

Sat 28 May 2016

Book Now

Sat 28 May 2016

Thu 2 Jun 2016

Book Now

Thu 2 Jun 2016

Fri 3 Jun 2016

Book Now

Sat 4 Jun 2016

Fri 10 Jun 2016

Book Now

Sat 11 Jun 2016

Sat 23 Jul 2016

Thu 15 Sep 2016

Book Now

Fri 23 Sep 2016

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.