LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002

News

Comments

Older Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Fri 30 Jan 2015

Sat 31 Jan 2015

Sat 31 Jan 2015

Sat 31 Jan 2015

Fri 6 Feb 2015

Sat 7 Feb 2015

Book Now

Sat 7 Feb 2015

Thu 12 Feb 2015

Sat 14 Feb 2015

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Sat 14 Feb 2015

Sat 14 Feb 2015

Sun 15 Feb 2015

Book Now

Thu 19 Feb 2015

Fri 20 Feb 2015

Fri 20 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sun 22 Feb 2015

Thu 26 Feb 2015

Sat 28 Feb 2015

Sat 28 Feb 2015

Wed 4 Mar 2015

Fri 6 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 6 Mar 2015

Sat 7 Mar 2015

Book Now

Mon 9 Mar 2015

Tue 10 Mar 2015

Thu 12 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Mar 2015

Sat 14 Mar 2015

Book Now

Wed 18 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 20 Mar 2015

Thu 26 Mar 2015

Fri 27 Mar 2015

Fri 27 Mar 2015

Sat 28 Mar 2015

Sun 29 Mar 2015

Thu 2 Apr 2015

Fri 3 Apr 2015

Thu 9 Apr 2015

Wed 15 Apr 2015

Fri 17 Apr 2015

Thu 23 Apr 2015

Sat 25 Apr 2015

Wed 29 Apr 2015

Book Now

Thu 30 Apr 2015

Mon 4 May 2015

Book Now

Thu 7 May 2015

Wed 13 May 2015

Sun 17 May 2015

Thu 21 May 2015

Fri 22 May 2015

Sat 23 May 2015

Tue 26 May 2015

Thu 28 May 2015

Sat 13 Jun 2015

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.