Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search


Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos


Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002



Older Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Fri 9 Oct 2015

Sat 10 Oct 2015

Sun 11 Oct 2015

Sat 17 Oct 2015

Sat 31 Oct 2015

Sat 31 Oct 2015

Thu 5 Nov 2015

Sat 7 Nov 2015

Sun 8 Nov 2015

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Wed 11 Nov 2015

Fri 4 Dec 2015

Fri 11 Dec 2015

Fri 11 Dec 2015

Sat 12 Dec 2015

Sun 24 Jan 2016

Thu 28 Jan 2016

Sat 20 Feb 2016

Fri 11 Mar 2016

Thu 26 May 2016

Thu 2 Jun 2016

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.