LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002

News

Comments

Older Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Fri 22 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 23 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sat 30 Aug 2014

Book Now

Sun 14 Sep 2014

Thu 18 Sep 2014

Fri 19 Sep 2014

Book Now

Sat 20 Sep 2014

Book Now

Wed 24 Sep 2014

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Wed 1 Oct 2014

Thu 2 Oct 2014

Sun 5 Oct 2014

Fri 17 Oct 2014

Sat 18 Oct 2014

Thu 6 Nov 2014

Thu 6 Nov 2014

Book Now

Fri 7 Nov 2014

Book Now

Sat 8 Nov 2014

Book Now

Tue 18 Nov 2014

Wed 19 Nov 2014

Fri 21 Nov 2014

Sat 29 Nov 2014

Book Now

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.