LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002

News

Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Fri 9 Sep 2016

Sun 11 Sep 2016

Wed 14 Sep 2016

Thu 15 Sep 2016

Book Now

Fri 16 Sep 2016

Sat 17 Sep 2016

Sun 18 Sep 2016

Mon 19 Sep 2016

Wed 21 Sep 2016

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Thu 22 Sep 2016

Fri 23 Sep 2016

Sat 24 Sep 2016

Thu 29 Sep 2016

Fri 30 Sep 2016

Sat 1 Oct 2016

Sun 2 Oct 2016

Tue 4 Oct 2016

Fri 7 Oct 2016

Sat 15 Oct 2016

Mon 17 Oct 2016

Tue 18 Oct 2016

Wed 19 Oct 2016

Thu 20 Oct 2016

Wed 26 Oct 2016

Thu 27 Oct 2016

Thu 27 Oct 2016

Wed 2 Nov 2016

Sat 5 Nov 2016

Thu 10 Nov 2016

Fri 11 Nov 2016

Sat 12 Nov 2016

Sun 13 Nov 2016

Tue 15 Nov 2016

Sat 19 Nov 2016

Thu 8 Dec 2016

Fri 16 Dec 2016

Sat 17 Dec 2016

Thu 12 Jan 2017

Sun 15 Jan 2017

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.