LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Original Review:

If you want a lively, spontaneous act full of easy banter, look elsewhere. Gary Delaney has an unyieldingly deadpan posture that makes Jack Dee look like Ainsley Harriot.

There's little in the way of stagecraft or the niceties of audience empathy, all you get is puns. Lots of them. Some brilliantly inspired. Some not.

Comics who peddle such wordplay normally have a kind of cheeky "I can't believe I'm getting away with this" type delivery that encourages punters to buy into the ridiculousness of the situation.

But Delaney's approach concentrates all the attention on the purity of the joke, making for a harsh environment for material. In this atmosphere, the weakest gags will die, starved of a persona to support them.

However, in true Darwinist manner, the strongest jokes thrive - and Delaney's strike rate is rising fast, meaning there is plenty to enjoy - including a generous handful of real gems that verge on the genius.

Date of review: May 2002

News

Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Thu 2 Mar 2017

Fri 3 Mar 2017

Thu 9 Mar 2017

Sat 11 Mar 2017

Mon 13 Mar 2017

Wed 15 Mar 2017

Thu 16 Mar 2017

Fri 17 Mar 2017

Fri 17 Mar 2017

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Fri 24 Mar 2017

Fri 24 Mar 2017

Thu 30 Mar 2017

Sat 1 Apr 2017

Thu 6 Apr 2017

Wed 12 Apr 2017

Thu 13 Apr 2017

Thu 27 Apr 2017

Fri 28 Apr 2017

Sat 6 May 2017

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.

We see you are using AdBlocker software. Chortle relies on advertisers to fund this website so it’s free for you, so we would ask that you disable it for this site. Our ads are non-intrusive and relevant. Help keep Chortle viable.