LIVE COMEDY SEARCH

Search Comedians

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

General

Comic Status

Comic Type

Gary Delaney

Gary Delaney Videos

Reviews

Gary Delaney 2: This Time It's Not Personal

Gary Delaney 2: This Time It's Not Personal

In honour of Gary Delaney’s simple approach to stand-up; a simple review. He tells a lot of one-liners, most of them funny, until the show’s over.

That’s it. He promises no emotional journey, no insight into his psyche. He’s got a good relationship, and his father’s in fine fettle, he tells us. So instead here are a few dozen short examples of inventive wordplay, unrelated to anything, to amuse us all.

Brevity is indeed the soul of his wit, and he’s built up quite a Twitter following because of it; though he saves the best gags for live. And in this show this Picasso of puns has got plenty of them.

He admits he’s childish and immature, but that allows him to get away with some of the more questionable lines which earn the show its 16+ rating. But there’s never any doubt they are anything more than daft wordplay, and he’ll alleviate a sex gag with something a lot sillier.

Unlike Jimmy Carr, who works in similar territory, Delaney adopts a low-status position, even making a big play of getting his inhaler out to emphasise his vulnerability. He’s ungainly as he lollops and shuffles around the stage, and looks something of a mess in three-quarter length shorts that overweight 40-year-olds really shouldn’t be wearing.

In a week in which robot stand-ups are in the news, Delaney has his own version, the Compere-A-Tron 3000. But this is merely a list of put-downs on a clipboard that, randomly chosen, slam his chosen victim for living in a crap town and having a crap job.

It’s one of a few maguffins he uses to break up the parade of one-liners. There are a couple of gags in cartoon form, too, plus some spoof letters he wrote to Dear Deirdre posing the sort of problems she’s not used to dealing with, plus he takes issue with the lyrics of a couple of songs. These digressions are never as good as the unadorned jokes, but it’s easy to see why he does it.

And he deploys his PowerPoint for the best section of the lot, in which he vandalises Wikipedia with his brilliantly inappropriate gags, to provide an hilarious conclusion to an hour that just zips along. You’ll never see ALF in the same way again.

Wednesday 7th Aug, '13
Steve Bennett

News

Comments

Older Comments

Gary Delaney Dates

Fri 6 Feb 2015

Sat 7 Feb 2015

Sat 7 Feb 2015

Book Now

Thu 12 Feb 2015

Sat 14 Feb 2015

Sat 14 Feb 2015

Sat 14 Feb 2015

Sun 15 Feb 2015

Book Now

Thu 19 Feb 2015

More Gary Delaney Dates …

Fri 20 Feb 2015

Fri 20 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sat 21 Feb 2015

Sun 22 Feb 2015

Thu 26 Feb 2015

Sat 28 Feb 2015

Sat 28 Feb 2015

Wed 4 Mar 2015

Fri 6 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 6 Mar 2015

Sat 7 Mar 2015

Book Now

Mon 9 Mar 2015

Tue 10 Mar 2015

Thu 12 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 13 Mar 2015

Sat 14 Mar 2015

Book Now

Wed 18 Mar 2015

Book Now

Fri 20 Mar 2015

Thu 26 Mar 2015

Fri 27 Mar 2015

Fri 27 Mar 2015

Sat 28 Mar 2015

Sun 29 Mar 2015

Thu 2 Apr 2015

Fri 3 Apr 2015

Thu 9 Apr 2015

Wed 15 Apr 2015

Fri 17 Apr 2015

Thu 23 Apr 2015

Sat 25 Apr 2015

Wed 29 Apr 2015

Book Now

Thu 30 Apr 2015

Mon 4 May 2015

Book Now

Thu 7 May 2015

Wed 13 May 2015

Sun 17 May 2015

Thu 21 May 2015

Fri 22 May 2015

Sat 23 May 2015

Tue 26 May 2015

Thu 28 May 2015

Sat 13 Jun 2015

Represented by

We do not currently hold contact details for Gary Delaney's agent. If you are a comic or agent wanting your details to appear on Chortle, click here.